Booting games on recovery menu

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sonicflash12, Aug 19, 2009.

Aug 19, 2009
  1. sonicflash12
    OP

    Newcomer sonicflash12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    So is there a way to boot an official game on the recovery menu without the installation of a modchip, also some may know the menu as the savemiifrii menu.

    So if i did need to get a modchip can drivekey autobot games, like is there a switch that i can toggle on/off, and if not which modchip would be best for something like this that is solderless, also could i just patch a game to autoboot and it would just run on a modchip set not to autoboot. btw i am ttrying to autoboot cd's through the recovery menu.
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CDs will NEVER work, wii doesnt have hardware to read cds, only dvds.

    if you use starfall/startpatch, you can boot games without modchip. Provided they are originals not "backups".
     
  3. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    legit games will just work through the recovery menu... without modchip
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no, you need starfall/startpatch with the "remove diag disc check" patch installed. Otherwise it'll just install the update from the disc, provided it is newer than the current System Menu.
     
  5. sonicflash12
    OP

    Newcomer sonicflash12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    ok thanks, but does drivekey have some kind of physical switch that turns autoboot disc on and off, or is there a modchip like that
     
  6. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    It is in the config menu (press reset 3 times and launch disc channel) autoboot can be enabled there, along with the chip being on and off, region and update hacks.
     

Share This Page