1. Meteor7

    Meteor7 Guess where this thumb goes.
    Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,282
    Country:
    United States
    Yes and yes. How would I share this save with you?
     
  2. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
  3. Pablitox

    Pablitox GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    Argentina
    Awesome :D
     
  4. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,224
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    Prof. 9 - thanks for the work and the updates! is there any possibility (or a reason why it would not be good?) that you can make boktai 1 have the same button combination as 2 and 3? (2 and 3 both use select and left/right, in the first game does select have a special purpose?) if not, why not use the same combination for all three?
    thanks :)
     
  5. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, Select opens the inventory screen in Boktai 1, whereas in 2 and 3 it just pauses the game as long as you hold it and lets you hotswap your equipped weapon/magic. If you want to use a different button combination you can change it in the source code and apply the modified .asm using ARMIPS.
     
    cearp likes this.
  6. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Another update: the patches play nice with stuff like Rising Sun grenades, Mr. Rainnot and such now. Also, I changed the button activator for Boktai 1 to R + A. These will hopefully be the final versions, as they should work in every possible situation.

    Grab it here: http://filetrip.net/gba-downloads/t...ktai-solar-sensor-patch-kit-2-2-0-f33081.html

    Changelog:
    • Patches now work properly with effects that modify the solar gauge such as Rising Sun, Sol Trance, Sunny Clogs and Mr. Rainnot.
    • Changed the button combination for Boktai 1 to R + A.
     
    Meteor7 and Pablitox like this.
  7. Jiro2

    Jiro2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    This says:

    Boktai 2 (U)
    CRC: E1FFB2D1
    NOTE: No clean dump of Boktai 2 (U) exists on the net. Use the cleaner patch.
    Is that checksum the checksum of the one on the net or is it the checksum of the already cleaned one? I have a No-Intro ROM of Boktai 2 and it already has that checksum.
     
  8. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The checksums in cleanroms.txt are the checksums of the clean ROMs as they would be if you dumped them from the cartridge yourself. If your ROM already has that checksum, there is no need to apply a cleaner patch, and if you do anyway, the checksum shouldn't change.

    Basically if your ROM has the checksum listed in cleanroms.txt you can apply the "Patch" patch and you're good to go. If the checksum is wrong then you should apply the "Clean" patch first.

    Also, that was written 3 years ago, so perhaps the situation for Boktai 2 (U) has changed now. When I wrote that I could not find any unpatched Boktai 2 (U) scene releases.

    EDIT: Also, I put the project on GitHub for those of you who like that. It also provides a mirror for the download in case FileTrip is down; you can find it on the Releases tab. https://github.com/Prof9/boktai-solar-sensor-patches
     
    Takeshi and Jabodie like this.
  9. Jabodie

    Jabodie Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to thank you for your work here.

    An easy solution to a stubborn problem.
     
  10. Zamzummin

    Zamzummin Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a question about Boktai 1's real-time clock functionality. I applied your patch and am playing with an EZ Flash 3-in-1 on my DS lite. Everything seems to work fine, except the in-game clock which resets to 0:00 every time I load my save. Since you didn't patch the rtc functionality (i.e. unlike the Eurasia release which allows 60x rtc speedup with L+R+Up) am I basically stuck playing at midnight for the whole game? (Note that the EZ Flash 3-in-1 doesn't have rtc emulation.)

    Will this break any in-game features or make certain parts of the game inaccessible? Or is the only side-effect that outside environments will always be at night? By the way, the clock does move forward while playing but since I only play for an hour or so at a time I only get to around 1:00 AM at the latest. I suppose I could leave the game running for 9 hours while I sleep but that seems a bit excessive just to play during in-game daytime hours.

    How about Boktai 2? Boktai 3? Thanks in advance for any info.
     
  11. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The EZ-Flash 3-in-1 does not have RT functionality, so yes. I believe you can change the time in the options in Boktai 1, or by talking to an NPC in Boktai 2 and 3. If you play at night the game is way easier since you get the benefits of both Solar Bugs and being able to recharge your energy, plus some enemies that walk outside just instantly die, so I'd recommend setting the time to daytime.

    You don't miss out on anything major. For Boktai 1 I believe your Solar Fruits take real time to grow (not sure on that), but you can play the game perfectly fine without them. In all 3 games you can also get healed or obtain an item by standing under the Solar Tree at the fall of dawn, but you can just change the time for that. Off the top of my head I can't think of any other stuff that requires you to be at a certain time.
     
    cearp likes this.
  12. Zamzummin

    Zamzummin Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, I didn't realize that I could change the time in the Options menu. Since it resets to 0:00 every time I start the game, I'll just set the correct time before playing so it's no problem at all.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  13. Star-scream

    Star-scream GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Hey so far this has been working very well on my psp really enjoying the fist Boktai the sun is in your hand.



     
  14. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,221
    Country:
    United States
    @Prof. 9 why isnt there a "Select" patch for Boktai 1 and can u make one plez?
     
  15. Prof. 9

    OP Prof. 9 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Because Select opens the main menu in that game. It's a bit more inconvenient than in Boktai 2 and 3, where the Select button also pauses the game, but doesn't open the menu, so you can still see the sun gauge as it updates. IIRC not every menu screen in Boktai 1 has the sun gauge on it.

    The '101h' on line 14 in the Boktai 1 source file dictates which buttons should be held down for the Left/Right buttons to work. Changing that to 4h should make it use Select instead.
     
  16. DinohScene

    DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    20,090
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Can confirm both are working fine on the PSPs TempGBA emulator.
     
  17. Gamer1125

    Gamer1125 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Thanks for sharin this, but i cnnt use it. (I used vba to play boktai.) Boktai 1 after rename ips n put with rom, i open game n all black screen. Boktai 2 can play but solar power didnt increase at all. I need help n hope u can reply me what is my problem. Thanks, Prof. 9.:)
     
  18. Stremon

    Stremon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    France
    @Prof. 9 thank you very much for those awesome patches :D
    It seems to work well on emulators, however, for some reasons it doesn't work at all on my EZ Flash IV... It gives me a white screen and doesn't boot at all.
    It does the same for Boktai 1 & 2.
    Do you have any idea how I can fix that?

    Edit: Of course, I checked the CRC32 to get a clean rom. I am using European version for both games.

    Edit: Nevermind, got my answer from the EZFlash posts, just had to hold L while launching the games :P
     
    Last edited by Stremon, Sep 7, 2016
  19. rayjay

    rayjay GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Thanks for the patch. Had a sudden urge to try out Boktai 3 and I'm glad find a good sun sensor patch that's relatively new. Shame that the eng Boktai 3 patch remains unfinished.
     
  20. Meteor7

    Meteor7 Guess where this thumb goes.
    Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,282
    Country:
    United States
    Is it? From what I can tell it's pretty much 100% complete.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Boktai, Sensor, Solar