1. Mackman

    Mackman Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    Which URls you blocked.Right now I`m on 4.1 and I just got my Wii U and I`m thinking about updating because the Wii U Netflix and Youtube app want open up unless I do a update which would update me to 5.0.
     
  2. TiMeBoMb4u2

    OP TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,551
    Country:
    United States
    The balanced URL's will block your system from updating. If you are on 4.1.0, you will not be able to access eShop, game downloads, app updates, etc.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  3. Mackman

    Mackman Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    What to do then?I don`t have nothing blocked with router yet.I just got the Wii U and the only thing I did was use Mario Kart 8 and updated to 4.1.Today I`m going to install Homebrew channel.So I need to update to 5.0 in order to use those apps.What I`m asking you is what URLs you use to block updates on 5.0 and will I be able to use the Neflix,Youtube,and the internet browser after I update to 5.0 and block URLs?
     
  4. Fl-ris82

    Fl-ris82 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello guys!

    I'm using 2 routers. One of them is my primary router and the other one is used as an acces point. (same SSID, Password, etc.) Unfortunately, my primary router has no options for URL/IP blocking at all, and my acces point can only block 4 URL's.
    My Wii U is currently connected to the acces point. Do you guys think there is a solution to this problem? A way for me to prevent the Wii U from updating other than URL/IP blocking?

    Thanks in advance!

    P.S
    Is it possible to prevent the automatic updates by blocking only 4/5 URL's?
     
  5. Slartibartfast42

    Slartibartfast42 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure you can't install a better custom firmware on your router?
     
  6. Fl-ris82

    Fl-ris82 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for your reply!
    No, I did my research and I'm afraid the latest firmware doesn't solve this. I tried blocking keywords tough, (nintendowifi, nintendo and wii) but unfortunately this didn't work either.
    In another topic, someone said something about creating a proxy to prevent the wii U from updating. Could someone explain this to me? I'm very new to that and barely know what a proxy is. :(
     
  7. ALPHAMARIOX

    ALPHAMARIOX A Whole Herd of Ugly
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks goodness that you can block IP ranges, since the Nintendo Update System looks like a huge DHCP server for all these other machines.
     
  8. Gericom

    Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,304
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is it possible to keep using the eshop, but prevent updating? If so, which urls do I need to block for that. I am on 5.0 (e) right now.
     
  9. TheChield

    TheChield Ugly Troll
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    France
    Yes it is...
    People should learn how dns work to know how to block connexions :)
    If you are asking for "nus.cdn.wup.shop.nintendo.net"
    Your will contact the ".net" Domain Name "master" Server (but this one is really to big to be asked by the average joe...)
    Then the ".net" DNS server will give you the IPs of the ".shop.net" servers
    The "shop.net" servers will give you the IPs of the "shop.nintendo.net
    ....
    But each ISP have some copies of the world domain to ip allocation so your ISP will have only some accesses to the world wide DNS adresses
    So no need to block IP range, just some hosts...
    Hosts haven't static IP, they change regarding where you're locating Most of the IPs are located in Boston... Nice for Americans...
     
  10. ALPHAMARIOX

    ALPHAMARIOX A Whole Herd of Ugly
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    All you need is a small map of the network. From the looks of it, we'd only need a few servers out of the lot. Also, when you have a DHCP/DNS server running, there's no need for statically assigning addresses if it's set up correctly. Blocking IP ranges should be considered if additional features from the servers for the Wii U persist.
     
  11. DbGt

    DbGt GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Mexico
    noob here

    I live in Japan and I have this router : Elecom wrc-1167ghbk2 , how do i block this nintendo update host??
     
  12. ehnoah

    ehnoah GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Seems I blocked it correctly.

    "Download of System Update failed"! xD
     
  13. Slartibartfast42

    Slartibartfast42 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    United States
    People want to block IP ranges because they have shitty routers that don't support blocking by URL, and they don't know how to re-flash their router with a decent firmware. Odd to me, because I make sure to learn how to re-flash a router before I buy it.
     
  14. Squall3

    Squall3 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Iceland
    My router only has options for ip/mac addresses/port filtering, and I can't really tinker with its firmware cause it was provided by my internet provider, so I don't actually own it.
    Question is, if I take the addresses that I need to block, and check their ip address via the ping command on cmd, does blocking the ip that will pop up be equivalent to blocking the address?

    I can't test it out now, since I didn't receive my Wii U yet, but does anyone know if that could work?
     
  15. glatzek

    glatzek Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I've got a question regarding the blocking of the balanced URL's. Right now I'm blocking all 5 balanced URL's mentioned in the first post. So far it's working, the WiiU doesn't see new Updates on Nintendos servers. Unfortunately also I can't play MK8 online without shortly allowing the WiiU access to those addresses.
    So here is what I have to Do:
    Start WiiU-> Start MK8-> disable the URL Filter for my WiiU on my Router-> open online Mode in MK8-> wait 10 seconds -> enable the URL Filter for my WiiU on my Router Afterwards everything is working, I can even play online a while, change the game and play another game offline, put MK8 back in and the next time Online works without disabling the filter until the next reboot of my WiiU. The WiiU seems to check a specific adress before starting online play, even if it is not used afterwards.
    Has anyone the same problem, is it too much to block all the 5 balanced URL's? What can I try? I'm in germany...
     
  16. ALPHAMARIOX

    ALPHAMARIOX A Whole Herd of Ugly
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Canada
    Who knows? Some people still use fairly old routers, although many routers nowadays allow you to access them on your PC through printed on instructions you can find on it. It also usually comes with a default administrator username and password in order for them to access it.
     
  17. Slartibartfast42

    Slartibartfast42 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    United States
    Buy your own router and hook it up behind your ISP's router. Just because they give you a router, doesn't mean you have to use it.

    And blocking IP's isn't as good, because the IP addresses could change.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  18. tbb043

    tbb043 Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,755
    Country:
    United States

    Odd to you because you're in the like 1% of people that actually understands how this sort of stuff works, but a lot of people just don't, and that's okay, just like if you don't know how to fix your own car or plumbing or whatever.

    Also could be their router doesn't support flashing (and this alone doesn't make it bad) or is provided by their ISP and they don't own it so flashing it would be a really bad idea.
     
  19. Slartibartfast42

    Slartibartfast42 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    United States
    Old routers can be flashed with DD-WRT or something else too. But really everyone should be upgrading to dual band 802.11n routers.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  20. Slartibartfast42

    Slartibartfast42 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    United States
    If it didn't support flashing, I'd buy a new one. If my ISP gave me one, I'd still get another one and put it behind the ISP's. Spending $80 or so on a nice router that will last 5 to 10 years really isn't that much. It will make you happier. I have a good router and it still can't stream 1080P video from laptop to my TV very well.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Clarification, Blocking, Servers