Black screen when loading Lostwinds - Winter of the Melodias

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by SweO, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi!

    Gaining nothing while searching the forums I've decided to ask what I possibly might be doing wrong when I've installed the .wad (PAL version on a PAL machine) of Lostwinds - Winter of the Melodias with both IOS 249 and IOS 222 using the SD-card. The only other game I've tried is World of Goo, which worked perfectly. I am using WAD Manger 1.5.

    Anyone who've encountered the same problem, getting a black screen while starting the game?
    Any hepl is deeply appreaciated!
     
  2. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Use Wad Manager 1.7

    Winter of Melodias uses IOS53, you may need to update it.
     
  3. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Aight, thanks for the response Yuan!
    How do you update the IOS53? And how did you know Winter of Melodias uses that specifically IOS? =O
    Thanks again!
    *downloading WAD Manager 1.7*

    .. btw, I read somewhere that installing and uninstalling WADS to your Wii is bad for for NAND. Is that true?
     
  4. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    NAND Flash has something like a 10,000 write usage... Eventually NAND will break from repeated writing, but it obviously will take a very long time to do so unless you're just constantly deleting and installing things non-stop.

    That said, this happens anyways if you load channels from SD (the channels have to be loaded into NAND before they launch) so nintendo is already doing it and there hasn't been a large influx of "bad" wiis so it's more likely than not, fine.
     
  5. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Showmiiwads says which IOS a wad uses. There is no problem in install/unninstall WADs.

    To update IOS, use DOP-Mii (if your wii have wi-fi), if not download NUS Downloader and make a wad of IOS53 lastest version (tick Pack -> Wad box) and install with Wad Manager.
     
  6. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ok, thanks! Just downloaded DOP-Mii (must have uninstalled it since I used it when softmodding my Wii) but are asked if I wan't to apply faksign and apply ES_identify patch to the IOS.

    What do I choose?
    Google gave me nothing =/
     
  7. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Choose no to any of these patches.
     
  8. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Installed it and tried to install Lostwinds now but gave a an error (ret = -2011) which I've gotten before when I tried other IOS for this game.
    I did however install a "newer version" of the IOS that New Super Mario Bros uses (got the latest DOP-Mii, 1.4 which had some newer IOS versions).
    Is that the problem?
    Did read about the error which said something about faulty ISO or such(?).

    What do you reckon?
     
  9. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    IOS53 is used to run the game, not install it. Are you installing it with IOS 249, right?
     
  10. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    AH! Shit. My bad lol. I was typing a entire page as a reply, but _now_ i finally get your answer lol.
    I install IOS53, then go to WAD Manager, make sure I install using IOS249 (not 53!).

    You know what? I'm currently able to run it. Thanks a MILLION Yuan! You'r a god damn life saver! =D
    Have been at this since yesterday loosing a lot of studytime.

    Still, one last question remains: does installing and uninstalling WADS mess with your NAND in the long rung?

    ... and again... MANY thanks! =D
     
  11. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    No problem. Just don't unninstall your IOSes
     
  12. SweO
    OP

    Newcomer SweO Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the tip Yuan.
    I will try to remember that. Well.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page