Bit Defender Error

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Zekrom_cool, Jun 11, 2011.

Jun 11, 2011

Bit Defender Error by Zekrom_cool at 9:03 AM (571 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Zekrom_cool
    OP

    Member Zekrom_cool I respect faith, but doubt is what gets you an edu

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Heaven [N's Castle]
    Country:
    India
    I got myself this new bitdefender antivirus from my friend. Every time I install the antivirus, the computer automatically restarts and then shows a screen error saying that a file has crashed, gives me 4-5 phone numbers and tells me to get the activation key. I put the key and the whole system crashes with all files gone. Why does this happen?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Which OS are you using?
     
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    It sort of obvious he's using Mac OS X.

    This doesn't sound like normal behavior. Get on BitDefender's forum site and see if people are having similar problems. I also suggest you call BitDefender support. At one time when I had it for PC, I had an old version (2009) that was causing me problems. they told me to download the trial and gave me a new serial to use for the new version (2010).

    Everything is backed up via Time Machine, right?
     
  4. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Thats why i'm asking this.
    The last thread he posted here was of XP.
    Edit:Link
     
  5. Zekrom_cool
    OP

    Member Zekrom_cool I respect faith, but doubt is what gets you an edu

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    Heaven [N's Castle]
    Country:
    India
    I am using Windows SP2. The pic just a random from google.
     
  6. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    Can you name the file?
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Now that's pretty dumb. Why the hell would you do that? How are we supposed to help you based off a picture that isn't even relevant to your problem? I thought that was YOUR picture. You don't post a random picture unless it actually has to do with your problem. You could have AT LEAST chosen a picture with Windows, not Mac OS X.

    Anyway, I used to have BitDefender. The worst problem I had was that the virus protection module or real-time protection module would fail to start and it would take a bit of debugging to get it back up; without it, you have no protection. However BitDefender has really great live support. You can get into a session with a tech, tell them your problem and they'll email you an executable file which fill fix the problem on its own. Always very helpful.
     
  8. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    As indicated in your previous thread your system is already compromised. Do not attempt to recover from it especially if AV cannot be installed, since this means the virus is preventing the install which is common virus behavior. This also means any attempts to clean it will probably fail or not be worth the trouble since you can't be sure if the system is actually 'clean'

    1) Copy off important files
    2) Wipe the drive
    3) Reinstall Windows

    You should really upgrade to Win7 at this point as well. There's no reason to stay on XP especially in light of your current situation.
     

Share This Page