BIG PROBLEM :[

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Jupiterman, Sep 28, 2009.

Sep 28, 2009

BIG PROBLEM :[ by Jupiterman at 6:39 AM (799 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Jupiterman
    OP

    Newcomer Jupiterman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right area, feel free to redirect me but... My sister was messing with the files on my cart and switched the default open program for all .sav files to notepad, I was worried so i started it up and opened a game and it got stuck on the screen that would be right before it created/read the .sav file.... could anyone help me figure out how to switch all of these and be able to open them?
     
  2. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Do you use AKAIO or official kernel? Which version?
     
  3. Jupiterman
    OP

    Newcomer Jupiterman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO, if you have some method of fixing this...I believe I owe you my life...
     
  4. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    try aformat
     
  5. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Let's go step by step~

    You started up what? Notepad or your Acekard? I completely don't undestand this at all.
     
  6. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    which version akaio are you using
     
  7. Jupiterman
    OP

    Newcomer Jupiterman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Ok first off "aformat"? and ok lets comfirm these steps.

    1.Yes this is on my PC where my files were changed.

    2.I started up my acekard and went to Scribblenauts, started it, it got to the title screen, I hit start, and then it just stopped.

    Posts merged

    i believe its 1.18? Whichever one is running kingdom hearts now. My ds firmware is 1.14
     
  8. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    No such thing. [​IMG]
     
  9. Jupiterman
    OP

    Newcomer Jupiterman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh now I feel ignorant, I guess its not working because of the new AK. Well then I'm glad I dont have to worry about pokemon or kingdom hearts aha, thanks.
     
  10. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    From What I have read I suspect you don't use akaio at all, so I recommend you install it immediately. All the info you need is up there in the sticky.
     
  11. dhjohn

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Well, just changing the file open behavior should not effect anything, however, if a sav was opened and saved in Notepad... bad things happen. The file was most likely converted from binary format to ascii format. Don't ask me what the difference is (sense ascii is saved as binary), but I've noticed this can happen when saving binary files with text readers.
    I'm not really sure what to do about it though. Your other saves shouldn't be affected though.
    ~dhjohn
     

Share This Page