Best Linux Distro for a long time window user?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Prime, Nov 26, 2008.

Nov 26, 2008
  1. Prime
    OP

Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

United Kingdom
    For college we are building a computer and I need a OS. I thought about windows xp or vista but that requires money (they wont let you install any os or software which you obtain for free...yarr) so in order to save money and spend more on hardware I'll install linux which is free then when I get home I'll install XP or vista which i obtained for free......yarrr again.

I've been using windows xp for about 3 years then moved to vista for one year so I really like how windows xp and vista works and I'm use to always using it.

So what Linux distro would be best for me? I was going for Mint or Ubuntu...

2. Banger

Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

United States
    For a more window feeling and a decent amount of bloat like windows. Either Ubuntu or Kubuntu, up to you. What exactly do you plan to use it for?

3. Prime
    OP

United Kingdom
    Internet, Photo editing, IRC, MSN, Playing Music.

But i might not be using it for long, It might just be a OS to quickly install so that I pass the course or i could dual boot.

4. TLSpartan

Member TLSpartan Kills threads

Australia
    What you would be looking into is the DE. GNOME mimics the Mac interface and KDE mimics Windows.There are many other as well (LXDE may be good for your needs, it looks alot like Windows XP). If you want to go from the ground up get a Debian netinst CD(stable would do). Install the base system and everything to get your network running. Once you reboot and the system runs fine, run this command

Code:
    apt-get install xserver-xorg-core xorg
    After that get a login manager (You will most likely end up using GTK apps so gdm would be good as the dependencies wont pile up)

Code:
    apt-get install gdm
    Then what ever DE you want

Code: