Hacking Best External Hardrive for Wii U vWii for Wii & GameCube Games

Chaes

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
41
Country
United States
What is the Best External Hardrive for Wii U vWii for Wii & GameCube Games?
There is no compatibility list I can find for the Wii U.. Does the Toshiba Canvio Basic 1TB work? Which one works for you? I don't want to waste money on an EHDD and then it doesn't work on the system with USB Loader GX and other software. Thanks! (This is for the Wii U vWii)
 
Last edited by Chaes,

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
4,636
Country
United States
What is the Best External Hardrive for Wii U vWii for Wii & GameCube Games?
There is no compatibility list I can find for the Wii U.. Does the Toshiba Canvio Basic 1TB work? Which one works for you? I don't want to waste money on an EHDD and then it doesn't work on the system with USB Loader GX and other software. Thanks!
The wii u currently does not support USB hard drives. Loadiine and other homebrew run off SD.

As far as the vWii I would say any drive that has its own power adapter. You can get power by using a Y cable but why mess with it.
 
Last edited by Kafluke,

Chaes

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 24, 2016
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
41
Country
United States
I'm talking about for the vWii. I want to play backups on it. So I don't have to have my original Wii hooked up. And the vWii upscales Wii Games to look much better. It's just a better experience for me.
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
4,636
Country
United States
I'm talking about for the vWii. I want to play backups on it. So I don't have to have my original Wii hooked up. And the vWii upscales Wii Games to look much better. It's just a better experience for me.
Upsacale? That's news to me. I thought it was same resolution.

Anyway you may try asking in the definitive vwii guide sticky thread. @CJB100 knows his stuff
 
Last edited by Kafluke,
  • Like
Reactions: CJB100

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
38
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,967
Country
United States
The wii u currently does not support USB hard drives. Loadiine and other homebrew run off SD.

As far as the vWii I would say any drive that has its own power adapter. You can get power by using a Y cable but why mess with it.

USB Y-cables are perfectly safe to use with the Wii U; I've a 1 TB USB HDD and it runs just fine.
 

CJB100

Programmer, Media Producer, Hardware Repair
Member
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
491
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
448
Country
United States
I'm talking about for the vWii. I want to play backups on it. So I don't have to have my original Wii hooked up. And the vWii upscales Wii Games to look much better. It's just a better experience for me.

Nintendo has an official compatibility list, but most drives require a Y-Cable, even most of the ones on their list. Really, just get anything a TB or under with the proper Y-Cable and you should be good. 2TB+ work as well, but you should format it to FAT32 for the least amount of hassle, and that doesn't play well with 2TB+ drives usually.

As far as upscaling, there is no internal resolution change done to Wii or GameCube games. The Wii U outputs 480p to your TV via HDMI cable, and if it can't, it will stretch the image. The TV may read it as 1080p, and this is because the Wii U is technically upscaling the image, but the resolution is still going to a be an honestly rather painful 480p. It will look cleaner, but there is not a real bump to hi-def.
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,750
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,411
Country
Germany
I'm aiming for this little baby right now: squeeze me!
It should have enough space for all my Nintendo needs plus my ripped DVD collection for using it with WiiMC.
It sucks a bit that WiiMC is not capable of playing 1080p content due to power and vWii resolution but a 2.5" drive is very portable. :)
Unfortunately I'm still not sure how to partition/format it cause my other post left unanswered.
I'd definitely prefer one big partition to store everything (roms, Wii, WiiWare, GC, Wii U games later on and movies) and it has been said here that a big continuous FAT32 partition is possible while it is said here that ext4 is possible as well, though I strongly prefer FAT32.

I don't know when I'll get the drive (probably this year) but when I do I'll report back what worked and what not.
 

Madalone

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Location
Valencia
XP
163
Country
Spain
I'm aiming for this little baby right now: squeeze me!
It should have enough space for all my Nintendo needs plus my ripped DVD collection for using it with WiiMC.
It sucks a bit that WiiMC is not capable of playing 1080p content due to power and vWii resolution but a 2.5" drive is very portable. :)
Unfortunately I'm still not sure how to partition/format it cause my other post left unanswered.
I'd definitely prefer one big partition to store everything (roms, Wii, WiiWare, GC, Wii U games later on and movies) and it has been said here that a big continuous FAT32 partition is possible while it is said here that ext4 is possible as well, though I strongly prefer FAT32.

I don't know when I'll get the drive (probably this year) but when I do I'll report back what worked and what not.

ok so this is what works for me. i've got GC, Wii, nes, snes, neogeo, cps 1 &2 plus all sega emulated through retroarch using wiiflow.

since the max fat32 can take is 2tb that's what i've got. it's formatted with 64kb cluster size (typing this at work off the top of my head so please correct me if i'm wrong) in MBR and set as active because as far as i know and i'm an expert in absolutely nothing nintendon't don't like it (see what i did there?) then again, i could have that wrong too but i'm pretty sure i'm not.

for wiiu games i've got a 256gb sd as loadiine doesn't do usb but i do keep copies of games in the hd. needless to say, the hd only has a couple 100gb free left but oh boy, does it do its work well!

i might have forgotten some details but i'm pretty sure that's it. for that wiiflow awesomeness, you can find a bunch of tutorials here in the forum on how to get it to magically make everything beautiful and accessible. man, that's the stuff missed childhood's made.
 
Last edited by Madalone,
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,750
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,411
Country
Germany
ok so this is what works for me. i've got GC, Wii, nes, snes, neogeo, cps 1 &2 plus all sega emulated through retroarch using wiiflow.

since the max fat32 can take is 2tb that's what i've got. it's formatted with 64kb cluster size (typing this at work off the top of my head so please correct me if i'm wrong) in MBR and set as active because as far as i know and i'm an expert in absolutely nothing nintendon't don't like it (see what i did there?) then again, i could have that wrong too but i'm pretty sure i'm not.

for wiiu games i've got a 256gb sd as loadiine doesn't do usb but i do keep copies of games in the hd. needless to say, the hd only has a couple 100gb free left but oh boy, does it do its work well!

i might have forgotten some details but i'm pretty sure that's it. for that wiiflow awesomeness, you can find a bunch of tutorials here in the forum on how to get it to magically make everything beautiful and accessible. man, that's the stuff missed childhood's made.
Thanks man. I already got some help here starting from this post where it is said that bigger than 2 TB partitions are possible with FAT32 and it would work with everything Nintendont included.
Also I like RetroArch but a highly prefer USB Loader GX over WiiFlow. However, I saw someone in the USB Loader GX thread who managed to build in the WiiFlow emulation plugin into USBLGX.
Here it is: https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1129#post-6643821
 
  • Like
Reactions: Madalone

lbruckus562

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2016
Messages
47
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
88
Country
United States
Thanks man. I already got some help here starting from this post where it is said that bigger than 2 TB partitions are possible with FAT32 and it would work with everything Nintendont included.
Also I like RetroArch but a highly prefer USB Loader GX over WiiFlow. However, I saw someone in the USB Loader GX thread who managed to build in the WiiFlow emulation plugin into USBLGX.
Here it is: https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1129#post-6643821

How are you guys getting RetroArch to work with the wii u through vwii?
ive tried multiple times with different retroarch wii folders and none of them boot.
last night i tried deleting everything except the core i wanted to use (fbalpha) and renaming it "boot.dol"
That seemed to work and it finally installed a "retroarch" config folder at the root of my drive...but i cant boot any roms, freezed on a black screen and i have to restart the wii u.

im using a 128gb card for loadiine and a FAT partion for vwii stuff.
Any help would greatly be appreciated!..having a lot of fun with retroarch on my vita, but i gotta play some of these cps1/2, and neo games with friends!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Gonna create an account
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    my username on there is still my old online moniker (if anyone says that anymore idk) TheBakingGamer0424
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i have a pretty goofy ahh pfp btw so heads up for that
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Sent you a friend request
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    accepted it and sent a challenge
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i'll just send a link
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    It wants me to install the app (i'm on my phone)
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    if you need, i can wait
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I'm downloading the app
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i'll just go grab my phone and play some clash royale or smth in the meantime
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I instaled Clash Royale one in my phone and
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    After turning on my phone the next day apps Couldnt open
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    So i had to uninstall Clash Royale
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i'm back
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    That was hella fast
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    just grabbing my phone
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    ready?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Wait a bit
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    lmao that game of clash royale i just played was easy asf
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Rrrrrrready
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    same
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: same