Best DSi flashcart?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by darkdenizen, Jul 11, 2009.

Jul 11, 2009

Best DSi flashcart? by darkdenizen at 3:20 AM (3,462 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. darkdenizen
    OP

    Member darkdenizen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    I bought an AceKard and it takes almost a minute to load up the folder with my games in it. I'm using a near-capacity 8 gig mind you. My CycloDS (for my DSL) opens everything up instantly, is there anything of that quality for the DSi?
     


  2. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,943
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    Then wait til the cyclo for the DSi is released :/ or try the new M3 coming out in a few days.
     
  3. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Master™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    Is there cyclo DSi coming? or just a rumor? o.o

    and second, i suggest you buy m3i zero.. =] and for my personal experience, i have ak2i but it doesnt take that too long to boot.. I dunno why is that... probably u have so many games on your game folder?

    EDIT: or try reformatting the SD card using Panasonic formatter.. sometimes it solve some lag problems.. =D
     
  4. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    A minute to load up! I have an acekard also, running AKAIO on a class 6 8 gig card and it takes like 1 second to load. It is nearly full also. Something just sounds wrong with your setup...
     
  5. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    With AKAIO mine loads in about 1 sec. I have around 30 games per folder (C2 Sandisk 8GB at near capacity). Don't go bashing the Acekard just because YOU have a problem.
     
  6. tylerxian

    Member tylerxian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with TheDestroyer, you should try using a new flashcart, maybe even if you prefer the new M3i Zero. Or maybe you should just try a different MicroSDHC card, one with Class 6 speed.
     
  7. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Master™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe the firmware is the problem? Try using AKAIO 1.4.1 proper? and;

    frankly, we need more some sort of data like what firmware are you using currently? you see it is hard to solve mathematical equation without the given.. so..
     
  8. darkdenizen
    OP

    Member darkdenizen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Didn't mean to bash the AceKard for all you fanboys out there. Just with my experience with DSL flashcarts I just load the firmware from the site, put what I want, and I'm good to go. I'll try that different firmware and see how that turns out. So as an edit: "My AceKard setup SUCKS"

    OH! And how can you tell what class card you have? I'm using a SanDisk 8GB.
     
  9. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Master™

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    I think you could tell it by looking at the card and see if there's any number in there like "(6)" that means its class 6.. or "(2)" that means its class 2..
     
  10. zero383

    Member zero383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Vancouver - #1 City in Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Fanboy? Nope, not a fanboy. I have Acekard, Supercard, iTouch, M3, CycloDS, EZ, branded products.

    I just stick with what works the best for my DS at the moment. I just don't like it when people immediately say something sucks because it doesn't work the way they expect it too. This is usually due to user error or general lack of understanding of the product. You were using the official firmware but if you've read the wiki or the posts in this forum you would have realized that AKAIO is the way to go as far as firmware is concerned.

    If you want an alternative, the M3i Zero will be released on the 15th (preorders avalable now at Gamekool or Gamezway).
     
  11. darkdenizen
    OP

    Member darkdenizen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Just a quick update! I put on the firmware you guys suggested and it works!! With little to no lag to open folders! Thanks a lot guys! I really appreciate it! And I apologize if I came off as rash or whatever. I just figured the official firmware should be the best, I mean they made the card right? Either way thanks! I'ma go play some DSi now!
     
  12. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Moved to appropriate section..
     
  13. anime4ever

    Member anime4ever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol. Always keep your card update.
     
  14. tal32123

    Member tal32123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    i still don't like acekard, the itouch team has better customer service.
     
  15. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    You would think so. I'm just happy there are alternatives, otherwise the acekard would be pretty crappy. Glad you got it working. [​IMG]
     
  16. Silver_Johnes

    Newcomer Silver_Johnes Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Russia
    Try to defragment your MicroSD card [​IMG]
     
  17. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ...lol, no.
     
  18. darkdenizen
    OP

    Member darkdenizen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    OK I need help again. (Really feeling noob-ish) I tried playing again today and now its stuck on the loading screen for some games. Why is this? And what info do you need to help. I'm using the firmware that that guy provided the link for and didn't change anything. I mean folders open quickly now...but games don't. Whats up?
     
  19. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
  20. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you update the loaders? You should check out the AKAIO wiki. It's a sticky on the Acekard board.
     

Share This Page