Best DS Emulator for PC?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by LeahLuvsYou, Aug 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Aug 4, 2011

Best DS Emulator for PC? by LeahLuvsYou at 6:23 AM (72,095 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. LeahLuvsYou
    OP

    Newcomer LeahLuvsYou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Beijing, China
    Country:
    United States
    I've been borrowing my friend's DSi for about a month now and have fallen in love with it. Unfortunately, he wants his DS backkkk ><

    Anyone have any recommendations for a good DS emulator? Preferably one that can run games like Shin Megami Tensei Devil Survivor, Pokemon Black, the Phoenix Wright Games, Advance Wars games and FFTA2?

    Thank you~~
     
  2. Wiip™

    Member Wiip™ Worth a penny.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. RoyalCardMan

    Member RoyalCardMan DS App Studio™ Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    In the middle of gun fire.
    Country:
    United States
    For simplicity reasons, I would choose NO$GBA.
     
  4. koimayeul

    Member koimayeul GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    no$gba hands down, emulation is very accurate on most games and user friendly GUI
     
  5. Waflix

    Member Waflix El Psy Congroo

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    Netherlands
  6. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I recommend to have two emulators:

    No$gba the latest version
    Desmume the latest version (you must have firmware to have mouse accurate and precisely.. Without firmware, I noticed mouse cursor messed up.)
     
  7. RoyalCardMan

    Member RoyalCardMan DS App Studio™ Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    In the middle of gun fire.
    Country:
    United States
    But it sounds like this user is new to emulation and homebrew(not offense. [​IMG] ).

    Just stick with NO$GBA for now.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No$GBA hasn't been updated in years, while it has lower requirements than others it has less compatibility.

    Desumume is a recommended one if you have great specs (mainly processor).
     
  9. RoyalCardMan

    Member RoyalCardMan DS App Studio™ Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    In the middle of gun fire.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if you do have a good processor, it is recommended. [​IMG]
     
  10. Narayan

    Member Narayan desu~

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Country:
    Philippines
    no$gba w/ no$zoomer add-on and bios files. some newer games won't work unless you select the start with gba bios option(bios files are illegal so you must look for it yourself).
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    but if you play pokemon b/w(and maybe other pokemon) don't start with gba bios.

    @waflix this is the official site: http://nocash.emubase.de/gba.htm


    desmume has better emulation and compatibility.
     
  11. jceggbert5

    Member jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Location:
    USA, Earth, MilkyWay
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a lower end computer but want good speed, get No$GBA, but if you want better/moreAccurate emulation, DeSmuMe...
     
  12. Dasm

    Newcomer Dasm Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Supposedly you can get onto the wifi network with a Desmume build, though I have never been able to get it even though I've tried with 2 seperate computers using both my cable modem through ethernet and androud usb tether.
     
  13. DeathCop4000

    Newcomer DeathCop4000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    No$GBA can run multiple roms (including GBA) but when you run a ds rom(example : Pokemon Black)The graphics will be the same as VBA . So I recommend to use DeSmuME
     
  14. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,625
    Country:
    United States
    Please check the dates of a thread before posting. Necrobumping is not useful and... gross.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page