Best 3DS flash cart?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Hummus, Jul 31, 2011.

Jul 31, 2011

Best 3DS flash cart? by Hummus at 8:10 PM (9,302 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Hummus
    OP

    Newcomer Hummus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, my 3DS has the latest firmware, so what flash cart would be the best for that firmware? Also, what are the major differences between the acekard and the r4i gold? Thanks!
     


  2. yusuo

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,195
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got a scds2 for my 3ds its the most expensive card on the market doule the price of acekard 2i but I got it cause I wanted to be able to play snes and gba roms.Acekard works perfectly fine though but I would see if they could pre-flash the card for you unless you got another ds lying around
     
  3. CrispyYoshi

    Member CrispyYoshi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United States
    I own an EZ-Flash Vi and a DSTWO flashcart. My brother also owns a DSTWO flashcart, but my sister owns an Acekard 2i.

    Well, the EZ-Flash Vi isn't the best choice. It does the job, but Acekard 2i is not only better, but it is also cheaper. They also get more frequent updates.

    Acekard 2i is good for DS emulation and homebrew. It does the job, and has updating whenever needed. It can run a very crappy SNES emulator but absolutely cannot emulate GBA (Unless someone actually has the incredible amount of freetime to do that, which hasn't happened in the 7 or so years we've had DS homebrew for).

    The DSTWO is good enough for DS emulation and homebrew. It has many playable games, but there's a few that have minor glitches. These glitches can easily be fixed through updates that may come in the future, and you can report them so they will be updated. It also has an SNES emulator that works better than the ones that the EZ-Flash Vi and Acekard 2i can run... just don't expect it to do too much. There's also a GBA emulator that has few glitches, but rarely ever runs at full speed (without frameskipping or taking out the volume).

    So you have:
    A flashcart that is expensive and isn't top-rate.
    A flashcart that is cheaper than the other flashcart and is better, with frequent updates.
    A flashcart that is expensive with more possibilities of things, at the cost of minor glitching.
     
  4. Hummus
    OP

    Newcomer Hummus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Does the scds2 have the same amount of slowdown emulating snes/genesis/gba as the acekard or the DSTWO?
     
  5. darbzzz

    Newcomer darbzzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    the scds2 is the DSTWO.

    the acekard cannot emulate GBA unless you use a slot-2 device
    not sure about slowdown with the snes or genesis emus

    soz i cant be more helpful

    also i got my acekard for less than £10 which is CHEEEEEAP!!!!1!
     
  6. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That's not emulation.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    IMHO, none of the flashcarts are truly 3DS-Ready, thus I'd disqualify all of them in the "best for the 3DS" category.

    From a standard everyday Joe perspective though, I'd choose the DSTwo. Acekards 2i shine, but only coupled with 3in1's and on DS Lite's. In any other instance, DSTwo is pimp.

    So yeah, if you can afford it, DSTwo. If you can't - Acekard. They're both great as far as support and compatibility goes.
     
  8. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    How so?
     
  9. Hummus
    OP

    Newcomer Hummus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    About SNES emulation... Can the DSTWO run it at 100%? If not what would it be... 50%, 60%, 70%? And same goes for the R4i Gold, what would the SNES percentage be for that one?
     
  10. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    It depends on the game. It's not the best, but better than any non-DSTWO SNES emulation.
     
  11. Shuji1987

    Member Shuji1987 ~

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    381
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That would be obvious due to not being able to run in 3DS mode.
     
  12. misssmk

    Newcomer misssmk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all the helpful info, makes choosing a card for the 3DS a lot easier.
     
  13. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    There are no such thing as 3DS flascart.

    Pip'
     
  14. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That's not "not 3DS ready" that's "not a 3DS flashcart".
     
  15. Shuji1987

    Member Shuji1987 ~

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    381
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There is no set fact on what is 3DS-ready and what is not. He was merely expressing his opinion due to the reason stated before (but that's my guess).
     
  16. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Well "3DS-ready" should imply that it can use full top screen resolution for one. The fact that it can run a rom or not doesn't mean it's not 3DS-ready.

    Pip'
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    My point exactly. It's like filling the gas tank of an old car that uses Pb-95 petrol with Pb-98. It's going to start, that's for sure. It's not getting the benefits of the higher-quality petrol though, it just drives normally.

    The current 3DS-Carts are "3DS-Compatible", which means that they can boot perfectly fine on a 3DS. They're not "3DS-Ready" though, as they are unable to boot in 3DS mode, nor can they boot 3DS ROM images.

    Use the standard shortcut for full-screen. It's L+R+Select, if I'm not mistaken. Look it up in the manual.
     
  18. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I think it's just the wording that bothers me, if you said "3DS Mode-Ready" or "3DS flashcart", I'd have had no objections. But whatever.
     
  19. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey guys my acekard 2i is 3DS ready, u jelly?
     
  20. Immortal_no1

    Member Immortal_no1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just received an e-mail from xpertron.co.uk, contents are below:

    Subject: Don't Update Your 3DS With The Firmware 2.1.0-4 Released On 26 Jul 2011
    [​IMG]

    Believe that it may be propaganda anyone else seen something similar?


    Before the update i was using an R4i 3DS gold worked fine, also have a SC DSTwo working fine - best for homebrew in my opinion.
     

Share This Page