Backup Loader + DVD+R

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rebound, Nov 17, 2008.

Nov 17, 2008

Backup Loader + DVD+R by Rebound at 9:25 AM (3,812 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. Rebound
    OP

    Member Rebound GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    Australia
    I've run out of my DVD-R's and unfortunately my Drive doesnt support booktyping. Is there any (other) Way to get DVD+R with the backuploader?
     


  2. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    You could try burning and see if it still works. Other than that, get some more -R or use a different burner.
     
  3. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    short answer: no dvd+r without bitsetting

    long one, it is explained in the linked file :
     
  4. stev418

    Member stev418 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Country:
    Australia
    what model is your burner? There are ways to get booktyping to auto dvd-rom
     
  5. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    Yeah what burner do you have, the majority can be flashed to bitset.
     
  6. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    i just burn it and it works fine on dvd+r.
     
  7. mowfax

    Newcomer mowfax Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Germany
    It's exactly the other way round here. DVD+R and +RW are working just fine (with bitsetting) but I can't get my TDK DVD-R or DVD-RW to work. Tried 2 different burners and speeds but I always get the 324 error...
     
  8. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    Are you using nero ? I heard it does bitsetting automatically.
    If you are using imgBrun, if you set bitsetting one time it will keep the setting forever.
     
  9. HazukiSon

    Newcomer HazukiSon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I for one have NEVER had to use book typing

    Open the ISO in Alcohol 120% --> Burn

    Thats it i've never had any problems +'s and -'s both tested both work.
     
  10. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    Maybe you could check the book type of your burned discs with dvdinfo pro ? According to the doc quoted it is not possible to use discs with backup launchers without book type set to DVD-ROM.
     
  11. Rebound
    OP

    Member Rebound GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a Matshita Drive
     
  12. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    use nero 6, that'll let you change to DVD-ROM...!! [​IMG]
     
  13. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use Imgburn with DVD+R's and have never changed any settings, but it works perfectly [​IMG]
     
  14. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    same here.
    lite-on burner, imgburn(win) k3b(nix), dvd+r (sony)
    booktype is NOT set in imgburn.
     
  15. joe90

    Newcomer joe90 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    short answer no.
    long answer nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    oooooooooooooooo

    /soz, just couldn't resist.
     
  16. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've never had to change booktype or anything, i just burn them with imgburn and it works fine. (Verbatim DVD+R)
     
  17. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never had to booktype here...
    Tesco DVD+Rs
     
  18. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    Anyone can check booktype of burned disc with dvdinfo pro ?

    I could not get burned dvds to work until I set booktype.
     
  19. sentinel5000

    Member sentinel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Its the loaders way to tell you to dont be so cheap and just buy DVD-Rs, jejeje im j/k. Anyways, use this black friday sells to get some good DVD-Rs [​IMG]...
     
  20. fennec

    Newcomer fennec Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    France
    I used Verbatim DVD-R, never worked. I also tryed Verbatim DVD+R and bitsetting, everyones worked very well.
     

Share This Page