Hacking Backup launcher DVD read error 324

spink123

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
Hi all,

I am trying to soft-mod my 2 friends' Wiis using backup launcher. What I did was basically removed my drive with modchip and put into their consoles to install Homebrew channel and other apps. Everything seemed to run smoothly with all backup games running well when my modded drive was inside.

However, once I replaced the drive without modchip (my friend's drive), all my backup games would not work in backup launcher and I got the DVD read error code 324. I tried that in both of my friends' consoles and got the same error.

Once I put back my modded drive into their consoles, all my backup games worked flawlessly.

I also tried using my friends' unmodded drive into my Wii to see if the backup launcher would work with my console. I still receive the same DVD read error 324.

Both of my friends' drive have no problems reading original games so I doubt that both of the drives are faulty.

In summary, it seems like the backup launcher is working well when the drive has a mod chip inside but gives an error when the drive has no chip.

I wonder if any of you guys have some solution to this and would appreciate it greatly if you could share with me the steps in solving it.

Thank you very much.
 

spink123

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
thanks, I did try to do a search for that actually but most of the discussions involved were about using the correct DVD media and burnt speed. However, all my backup games are working well with the modded drive so it shouldn't be the DVD media.
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,387
Trophies
1
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
95
Country
United States
I agree with wiipower DVD+R likely culprit as they work fine with modchips but not so great with softmods. Then he could have also forgot to install the CIOS or got a bad install as he wouldn't need it on a modchip.
 

moriphiend

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
170
Country
United States
digitydogs said:
I agree with wiipower DVD+R likely culprit as they work fine with modchips but not so great with softmods. Then he could have also forgot to install the CIOS or got a bad install as he wouldn't need it on a modchip.

I got this exact error on every TDK disc I have burned. I went back to using memorex, never got the error again.
 

spink123

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
tj_cool said:
Uninstall the cIOS with the Any title deleter (I mean the one you installed with the BL)
Then install this one

Thanks, the cIOS that I installed with BL is IOS37-64-v2070.wad but i can't find it when using Any Title Deleter. Can i copy this channel into the SD card wad folder and then uninstall it with Channel File Manager?
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
312
Country
Mexico
with AnyTD you need to delete IOS249, and then use Wad Manager to install what's on my signature..!!
wink.gif



BTW IOS37 is giving problems and that is why we aren't using it since the Backup Launcher concept came out
 

spink123

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
8
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
my problem has been solved, thank you for the advices and especially to ether's wad file and the backups are working again!

grog.gif
 

ether2802

we have the techno...!!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
4,349
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Pto. Vallarta
XP
312
Country
Mexico
Well just to everyone knows what was wrong:

unproperly cIOS installation, try searching the .wad version of the cIOS people, IF you're getting troubles with the .dol installer, ok..?
biggrin.gif
 

Eclectic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
54
Country
Unfortunately Im having similiar problems, and as my wad manager doesnt contain any cIOS that I can see, to install. And your sig no longer links to whatever it libnked to. Im stuck.

What did you have in your sig?g
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
3,110
Country
Belgium
Eclectic said:
Unfortunately Im having similiar problems, and as my wad manager doesnt contain any cIOS that I can see, to install. And your sig no longer links to whatever it libnked to. Im stuck.

What did you have in your sig?g
most likely a cIOS, which aren't allowed here
so if you need the newest cIOS for the gamma launcher, go at http://wii.waninkoko.info , where you'll find it if you want it
but if I can ask: what DVD media do you use?
 

DKAngel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
834
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Perth,Australia
Website
Visit site
XP
1,264
Country
DVD+R work perfectly fine with softmods, man wish people would stop saying they dont
ive got about 50backups all on +R and there isnt a single thing wrong with them(yes they were all burnt with booktype dvd-rom)
 

caleb4god

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
52
Country
United States
DKAngel said:
DVD+R work perfectly fine with softmods, man wish people would stop saying they dont
ive got about 50backups all on +R and there isnt a single thing wrong with them(yes they were all burnt with booktype dvd-rom)

ur right and wrong on that one. people who have burners like me (pioneer 111) dont have the option to change the booktype. hence my dvd+rs give a read 324 error on a softmodded wii regardless the setup and work perfectly on my wiikey 1.
 

BIG MOE

๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,253
Trophies
0
Location
Wiiland Hills
XP
69
Country
Syria
can all the MORANS please stop pormoting the DVD+r cause it does confuse many noobs and we don't want that , please , it is like telling people can you jerk off with two pens ? , the answer is yes some people can achieve such thing , but the normal way is use your hand , HAND = DVD-r , thank you for stopping that crap about DVD+r genuis
wink.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, I'd imagine it being a decal. The rest is golden painted plastic.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Dell bringing out some fugly PCs.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dell has sucked for a long time now
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Back when I worked for them they where at least somewhat OK.... Now it's like the dump had a sale on PCs and Dell bought them all
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dell messed up by screwing over Alienware line
    +3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Yeah when they bought Alienware.... That was a disaster for Alienware
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I mean whoever got paid out of that deal, made out like a bandit I am sure lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Even then they were cool power spaceship shuttles now it's just a badge any old ten year old can slap together
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ken probably a ten year old in China made the mobo and the case, it's sad his older brother did a swan dive off the Foxcon factory roof.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    PC definitely peaked
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    His older brother trained him he got better and dishonored his family
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    In some ways that's kind of a good thing. I remember when PCs where way more expensive and if yours was a year old it was an antique
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I spent like 5K on a 233Mhz Pentium system, a year later they where like 500Mhz lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah but back then you actually got doller to performance
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Now it's just $500 get you a decent enough machine
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    128GB SanDisk was like $150 at that time also
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder how much my 6.5GB quantum big foot hard drive was lol it was the largest drives at the time
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Back when og Xbox hard drives died
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    That big foot was a 5.25 inch drive huge lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    See if any old bank drives are on auction
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    The Timex Sinclair 1000 I had as a kid had 2kb ram. But I had the awesome 16kb expansion cart. lmao
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    The hard drive was a cassette player. So 30-45 minutes per side of storage. lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol got a call asking to donate to local police force said you have a good radio voice they were like okay goodbye
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Lol got a call asking to donate to local police force said you have a good radio voice they were...