1. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,505
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    Hi, I know I can backup dsiware to a cia (thanks to my FunkyCIA lol)
    but, I want to backup the SAVE of it.
    I tried with savedatafiler, but I don't think I saw dsiware saves in it...

    (I formatted my sysnand and wanted to backup my advance wars days of ruin save - so that I could restore it afterwards, but I don't think it is possible with the current tools so I just chose to lose it, not a huge deal)
     
    Last edited by cearp, Jan 4, 2016
  2. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    IIRC, DSiWare saves are in TWL NAND partition alongside with app itself.
    That partition can be dumped and decrypted using Decrypt9.
    That must be the save of Zelda 4 Swords:

    [​IMG]
    But I'm not sure if save can be transferred that way.
    I'm currently have similar problem with transferring GBA saves after formatting.
     
  3. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,505
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    yeah, in twl firm nasty...
    how to even put it back encrypted if i even got it out? :(
     
  4. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    cearp likes this.
  5. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,505
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    hmmm... on the ctr fat16 partition, nand contents are not encrypted to the console (unlike the sd card)
    so, it might be that simple... :) thanks!
    i lost my advance wars save but it was my choice. i'll keep this in mind!
     
    redunka likes this.
  6. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    Yes, and content of twl fat16 partition also isn't encrypted.
    You can even dump dsiware app, rename it to .nds and test it with no$gba (it most likely will be unplayable though).
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by redunka, Jan 4, 2016
    cearp likes this.
  7. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,505
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    cool :) thanks for the info!
     
    redunka likes this.
  8. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    We can easily export and import TWL saves with GodMode9 now.

    GodMode9 -> [2] SYSNAND TWLN -> title -> 00030004 -> <GameID> -> data -> public.sav

    Just do the copy & paste.

    But how to convert .tmd and .app into .NDS?
     
    Last edited by MelonGx, Oct 16, 2016
    cearp likes this.
  9. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    You don't have to convert anything. :)
    Simply rename .app to .nds, that's all you need.
     
  10. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    Tested it on DSTWO.
    It has icon but white screen when launching.
     
  11. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    DSTWO runs in NTR mode, so it can't run DSiWare titles.
     
  12. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    Then.....CycloDS iEvo on 1.4.2?
    But unfortunately it only has USA/EUR region and all of my dumps is JPN.
     
    Last edited by MelonGx, Oct 16, 2016
  13. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    (double post)
     
  14. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    Yeah, there's not so many options to run DSi-exclusive stuff. :(
    Either CycloDS iEvo or no$gba emulator (which has poor compatibility).
     
    MelonGx likes this.
  15. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    Unfortunetely, just tried that NO$GBA 2.8 could not run my stuffs.:(
     
  16. cearp

    OP cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,505
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    maybe compare your own dump to a scene dsiware/other person's dsiware dump?
     
  17. redunka

    redunka GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    Russia
    It would probably be easier to check if dump is good by comparing SHA-256 hash of dumped SRL (.app) with the hash from .tmd file.

    Anyway, I wasn't able to boot any DSiWare in NO$GBA 2.8d myself, yet same dumps do work with version 2.8b for some reason.
     
    cearp likes this.
  18. MelonGx

    MelonGx GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Country:
    China
    No use because the .NDS is directly copied from TWLN by GodMode9.
    I don't think a playable installed DSiWare could be a corrupt data.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - dsiware, Backup,