Awful Newzbin Speeds...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Killakae, Dec 11, 2007.

Dec 11, 2007

Awful Newzbin Speeds... by Killakae at 8:03 PM (1,964 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Killakae
    OP

    Member Killakae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can anyone help me out? for the past few days i've been getting speeds of up around 60kbs until like 2 in the morning, then it increases to my normal speeds of 600-650kbs

    I'm from england, i'm using a www.newshosting.com NH45 server and my News Reader is Newsbin Pro 4.3 (i've tried other Newsreaders, nothing changes)
     
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What ISP are you using? They could be limiting your speed.
     
  3. betawind

    Member betawind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Probably your ISP, or your neighbors (If you have a cable internet connection and your neighbors are downloading alot, it could be killing your bandwidth). Have you speed tested during these slow periods to isolate the cause (the news server or your ISP)? Also, why is this in the wii forum and not the computer forum?

    Edit: Added clarification
     
  4. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    someone could be leechig off your router

    contact usenet service provider

    not right section for this also

    sentence fragments
     
  5. betawind

    Member betawind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Hadn't thought of leeching off the router, its a possibility. Check your router's management page for any devices that don't look familiar to you. Also, if you have any other computers in the house that someone else may be using, take a look at them as well. Make sure no one in your house is downloading while you're trying to as that could be affecting this as well.

    I think its a bit too soon to talk to the usenet provider without doing a speed test first. Make sure its *not* your internet running slow before blaming the content provider. There are tons of speed tests out there that can help confirm your connection speed.
     
  6. Killakae
    OP

    Member Killakae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BT Total Broadband... i did a speed test on their site

    Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
    IP profile for your line is - 5500 kbps
    DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 6400 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 493 kbps


    all my other downloads (eg. Rapidshare) work fine too
     
  7. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having the same problem..
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try changing ports , newshosting has loads of different ones that you can try. Other than that , it's probably BT doing a bit of throttling as they suck.
     
  9. Killakae
    OP

    Member Killakae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then I guess it's bt throttling you , not much you can do. I'd get rid and get a decent isp.
     
  11. Killakae
    OP

    Member Killakae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm under contract :'(

    hopefully this wont last too long... thanks anyway
     
  12. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If they ever change the terms & conditions you can leave. If you download a lot and can get cable in your area, get Virgin Media. Its unlimited downloading and they only cap between certain times when you have downloaded too much. For instance if your on the 20mb package they cap you between 4pm and 4am if you download more than 3gb. Then your capped to 6mb download speed. All DSL providers seem to cap you between certain times. They're unlimited service is unlimited online time and they let you download around 60gb a month before you get a letter. Some are worse than others.
     
  13. Killakae
    OP

    Member Killakae GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i dont have cable in my area... and on average i download like 60gbs a week lol

    thanks for your help though... its 1:54 now so i can finally get NiGHTS [​IMG]
     
  14. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bethere?. ADSL2+ , up to 24mbs. Obviously you won't get that unless your right on top of the exchange , but they don't bitch or moan at downloads. I've pulled nearly 30GB in the last day and half and they don't even blink [​IMG].

    Oh and 3 month contract [​IMG] , so not stuck with em.
     
  15. avant1277

    Member avant1277 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a similar experience. I'm with Tiscali and all the news ports offered by my previous news provider were incredibly slow. Then I found they were throttling those ports.

    I then set up a subscription with Giganews and use the https port 443. This works great all the time.
     
  16. russ333

    Newcomer russ333 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bt do traffic shape but they don't admit it. My bittorrent speeds are generally below 40 KBs until about 2am then it goes up to about 600KBs but back down again about 7 am. I wrote them an email but they just said it must be the way the my firewall is set up. Cr*p
     
  17. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,717
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alas it seems it is between Bt and Virgin these days, both of which I would happily leave long behind (I did like the telewest that I had before they were gobbled up by virgin). Oh and the capping is set to worsen:
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/12/10/vi...ottling_update/ (ignore the title and do the maths)

    As for BT I have a homehub that works great via cable but the wireless only functions fast when I have a commercial DS game running online. I use giganews (unencrypted via port 80 or 119) and I am normally OK (or at least I was 2 months ago).
     
  18. apd

    Member apd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use Usenet-News which has an SSL encryption server which can help if your isp is capping you.
     
  19. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, if you get Giga-News or something else with SSL, you might have better luck. I mean, if it's throttling based on protocol, anyway....
    If your connection is completely throttled during the day, then you're screwed :/
     

Share This Page