Autoboot supporting modchips

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiCrazy, Sep 10, 2008.

Sep 10, 2008

Autoboot supporting modchips by WiiCrazy at 10:41 PM (11,195 Views / 0 Likes) 53 replies

  1. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    I'm tired of waiting to fix my banner bricked wii, since I can't autoboot any disc I plan to buy and install a modchip that supports autoboot.

    And this can be useful for those who will newly mod their wii. Here is the information I gathered so far :

    Modchip --- O supports autoboot / X doesn't support autoboot

    D2CKey--- X
    D2CPro--- X
    Wasabi---- X
    D2Pro----- ?
    D2Pro9---- ?
    D2Pro21---?
    Argon----- O
    Argon9---- ?
    D2Sun---- ?
    D2Sun2--- ?
    D2Sunv3- O
    D2Lite---- ?
    WiiKey---- O
    YAOSM---- O
    Cyclowiz-- O
    Wiinja----- O

    Also please add any chips that I missed in the list, you can use either bootme or autoboot creator to patch a wii iso as autoboot.
    http://www.wiibrew.org/wiki/Wii_BootMe
    http://landeblog.wordpress.com/wii-autoboot-creator/
     


  2. NIMIKQ

    Newcomer NIMIKQ Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    Wiikey supports Autoboot, thats how I fixed my banner brick [​IMG]
     
  3. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Thanks for the input [​IMG]
    It will be my actually first attempt to rescue my wii, find a local wiikey modded wii owner and hotswap the drives [​IMG]
     
  4. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Hopefully you mean cold swap... I wouldn't recommend swapping drives while the wii is running!
     
  5. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Actually used it out of it's original meaning... Of course I'll do the thing while everything is powered off [​IMG]
    In the sense it will be hot (sexy [​IMG] )

    ps: not a native speaker...
     
  6. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Added Cyclowiz... seems no chip for D2C boards and beyond support autoboot?
     
  7. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so this would mean that i need a old wii drive and wii key and then i can unbrick my wii without the trucha signed discs? running twilight princess and fix it with wad manager?

    edit: seems we are having same problem fixing our wii although you have a modchip and 3.2

    as far as i know d2pro doesn't have autoboot, but i'm not sure about that...
     
  8. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well actually swapping drives is possible and easy... but finding someone willing to swap drives is hard.. no one seems to care. And the service centers (not the official ones) are worse in knowledge than an average gbatemper and they are unwilling to do the thing because they do not know anything about it.

    About the d2c board thing... it was just my estimation, we'll see if it's actually true or not. I do think that it has to do with the chip's working method. I know that wiikey and earlier mods work differently than the d2c modchips, hence the low wire count. Possibly it's because of a security issue that is fixed with the drivechip (d2c and onwards).

    That's an estimation too...

    And yes if my estimations are correct (I hope not so), there only left 4 options to solve the issue... two of them is not ready yet. From easiest to hardest.

    1. Swapping the drives with a wiikey modded one just to fix the problem and reswap. (maybe buy a second hand wii with wiikey and sell afterwards)
    2. Patch freeloader's apploader so that it patches the system menu either force recovery menu or to display only the disc channel instead of all channels. (see here : http://forum.wiibrew.org/read.php?8,1693). need to learn ppc and some inner workings of the wii. You need a modchip..
    3. Build the recovery dongle (It ain't published yet)
    4. Flash the backup nand dump with the infectus chip (You need to have a nand backup)
     
  9. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    You do know that you can patch any DVD-image to autoboot, regardless of the modchip, do you?
     
  10. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Not the patching matters, those chips with X on side doesn't boot autoboot discs as intended. Of course I patched the disc images as autoboot.
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    It has nothing to do with the chip. Every chip will boot autoboot discs.
     
  12. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    SSBB doesn't support autoboot.
     
  13. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    And the proof?
     
  14. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    not unless you have 3.3 on your wii so i would still need a way to make my wii go into recovery mode without a disc or i would need a chip which you can force to boot discs without the system menu... so i think my only hope is still a modchip and recovery dongle (if it will ever be published how to build one...
     
  15. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Swapping drives will work for you too... If you still have the hacked twilight saves (I know you are not sure about that), you can autoboot with zelda patched autoboot.
     
  16. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    autoboot patching would still leave it trucha signed is it not? so why would that help on a system menu 3.3 which blocks trucha signed discs... am i going nuts or am i forgetting something?

    edit: i think the D2pro9 has autoboot cause it can be updated by dvd... See here
     
  17. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Modification in the disc header (like patching region) doesn't require signing again so it will work on trucha disabled 3.3 system menu. I'm not sure if dvd upgrading is a sign of chip supporting autoboot. Dvd upgrade disks are gc disks right? We should actually hear from a d2pro9 user if it actually works or not.
     
  18. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    know any? i don't [​IMG]
     
  19. WiiCrazy
    OP

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well I don't know too [​IMG]
    There should be a lot around here actually...
     
  20. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i mailed the devs of D2PRO, i hope they can tell us about it...
     

Share This Page