Autoboot discs on 4.0 (4.1)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Benjay, Aug 16, 2009.

Aug 16, 2009

Autoboot discs on 4.0 (4.1) by Benjay at 7:09 PM (2,470 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Benjay
    OP

    Member Benjay Hardstyle Addict

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Amiens
    Country:
    France
    Hi everyone !!

    i have a little question.
    Is it possible to run autoboot discs (like a wadmanager autoboot disc for example) on a 4.0 (or 4.1) wii ?
    i know the trucha bug is dead on these firmwares , but is there a way to do it ?

    Should i use Trucha bug restorer to patch an IOS ?
    if so , which IOS do i need to patch to enable autoboot disc on such wiis ?

    Thanks in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    A 4.0/4.1e(i only try this on my e version) sysmenu autoboot any Wii compatible dvd if the first byte from the ISO is $30 and the modchip support autoboot discs.

    That was part one. [​IMG]


    Trucha, cIOS and other hacks are part two and this has nothing to do with part one. [​IMG]

    If you have an AB disc with an tool that required the trucha bug in IOS**, you must have a trucha patched IOS** installed.
    If a tool need a cIOS you must have a cIOS installed.
    And so on.
     
  3. Benjay
    OP

    Member Benjay Hardstyle Addict

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Amiens
    Country:
    France
    ok , i get it [​IMG]

    So , e.g , i want to launch a wadmanager autoboot disc on my wii , (no modchip) , which IOS do i need to trucha restore ??

    thx.

    oh , and is there a simple way to know which IOS is required to launch an app ?
    Is there a list available somewhere , or something like that ?
     
  4. zantzue

    Member zantzue GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Basque Country
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This disc http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IHOREMRO works on 4.1 and 4.0 Wiis (it works on any firmware version, I think). It doesn't matter what your region is. It boots automatically the Homebrew Channel (more usefull than a Wad Manager autoboot disc). What you need is a modchip (you do need a modchip to run an application autoboot disc), the Homebrew Channel already installed, Waninkoko's cIOS (any version) and trucha bug unfixed on the IOS of the System Menu.
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You'll have to patch IOS60. And you'll probably need to use the disable diagnostic disc check hack from startpatch or preloader. The one that makes the Y button call the recovery menu is helpful as well.
     
  6. Hero-Link

    Member Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal

    hmmm with no modchip, i dont think its possible...

    you want to load a custom disc, from the "start" without accessing the wii system menu, with no modchip, right?

    if so i'll keep my first option, and say it wont work. But thats just me :X i'm not an expert.
     
  7. justhed0n

    Newcomer justhed0n Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try this the Universal Unbrick Disc v2
    l can get to freemii then put in the boot disc which boots up wad manager 1.3 but sadly from there l cant select an option as my wii is fully bricked and the wii remote or the gc controller don't seem to work [​IMG] a failed update mod to 4.1
    But hey if you could get this working or a workaround pm me
     
  8. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm not sure because i never try it before, but i think it's possible if cIOSCORP is installed.

    Otherwise there is no way to (auto)boot any disc without an modchip. Not from the disc channel and not from the recovery function.



    No, some tools need a cIOS, some a trucha patched IOS, ...
    But in the readme of every tool you should find more information.




    There are other ab discs available that didn't need the HBC, that could help to fix a ploblem without hbc.
    Also there are some ab forwarder discs available that can start a xxxxx.dol/xxxxx.elf from the sd card and this ab discs are more flexible.
     

Share This Page