1. Bullseye

    OP Bullseye GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    So, I have been using Atmosphere 0.12 running through Hekate w/ Sigpatches on EmuNAND and I have been measuring the boot times through different payloads. The difference in boot times is quite relevant:
    • Payload: Hekate 5.2.1 auto launching CFW emuNAND through fss0= Time to boot: 18.34 seconds
    • Payload: Hekate 5.2.1 launching CFW emuNAND through fusee-primary Time to boot: 31.77 seconds
    • Payload: fusee-primary auto launching CFW emuNAND Time to boot: 33.47 seconds
    I have performed various tests and all of them fall under similar times. However we can see that there is a large difference in boot times of around 15 seconds.

    Edit: for reference, stock switch (Horizon OS) takes around 10-11 seconds to start.

    I am using the following hekate_ipl.ini file

    Code:
    [config]
    autoboot=0
    autoboot_list=0
    bootwait=0
    verification=1
    backlight=100
    autohosoff=0
    autonogc=1
    updater2p=1
    
    {------- Launch -------}
    [Atmosphere]
    payload=bootloader/payloads/fusee-primary.bin
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_atmosphere.bmp
    
    [Horizon]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    stock=1
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_horizon.bmp
    
    [CFW - sysMMC]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    kip1patch=nosigchk
    atmosphere=1
    emummc_force_disable=1
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp
    
    [CFW - emuMMC]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    kip1patch=nosigchk
    emummcforce=1
    atmosphere=1
    icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp
    Do I have something incorrectly configured in my setup or can I do something to increase the boot times when using fusee primary as payload?

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
    Last edited by Bullseye, Jun 16, 2020
  2. ::Phoenix::

    ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Italy
    Hekate simply has a faster SDMMC driver than Atmosphere's
     
  3. LapCheong

    LapCheong GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Australia
    Sucks that tinfoil don't allow fs0 boot
     
  4. paulzheng

    paulzheng GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    China
    payload as fusee-primary.bin, you should add fs patches and loader patches in atmosphere/kip patches/. DL from harukonx's github page. the latest is fusee.zip, it contains a bunch of ips
     
  5. LyuboA

    LyuboA Unknown Entity
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    it does i use it like that
     
  6. LapCheong

    LapCheong GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Australia
    But it doesnt work if you try to load sigpatches right? since tinfoil detects the patches.ini file
     
  7. LyuboA

    LyuboA Unknown Entity
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    instead of asking and waiting for me to respond its much faster for you to just try it like i said it works
     
  8. LapCheong

    LapCheong GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Australia
    haha i already know that i isnt working for me that why i deluded that patches.ini is file that stopping to work. Just wanna to see how you got it working because i exhausted all option.

    I even boot with hekate > fusee primary with patches.ini (Tinfoil doesnt work)

    So i am curious
     
    Last edited by LapCheong, Jun 11, 2020
    TheCasualties likes this.
  9. LyuboA

    LyuboA Unknown Entity
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    they removed the check like a month ago with one of the auto updates to tinfoil
     
    LapCheong likes this.
  10. Bullseye

    OP Bullseye GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    I added FS and ACID patches to hekate, and raugo's patches for fusee.

    Are those going to improve boot loading times for atmosphere?
     
  11. paulzheng

    paulzheng GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    China

    no, look at your cfg in hekate_ipl, it shows you choose payload ams's fusee-primary.bin, that's meaning you needn't use hekate to boot system, just add fs patches and loader patches folders under sdpath atmosphere/kip patches/, make sure there is 3 ips in loader patches.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    tinfoil will detect whether hekate/kosmos installed in sdcard, but you can install a old version which compatible with kosmos/hekate.
     
  12. Bullseye

    OP Bullseye GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    I know I don't need hekate to boot system. But I want to boot through hekate sometimes. If not I just push fusee primary payload directly
     
  13. Bullseye

    OP Bullseye GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Update:
    • Payload: fusee-primary (AMS 0.13) auto launching CFW emuNAND Time to boot: 37.50 seconds
    • Payload: Hekate 5.2.1 auto launching CFW emuNAND through fss0= Time to boot: 17.07 seconds
    Updating time just for reference.
    Note: only taken time one boot-up. Will update if I get some significant delays as I boot up the console during the next days
     
    Last edited by Bullseye, Jun 16, 2020
    MSco likes this.
  14. popy

    popy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Austria
    Thanks for your analysis.
    I am always booting with hekate.
    Currently with fusee primary.
    What's exactly is the difference to booting to fss0 secondary bin?

    Thx
     
  15. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,086
    Country:
    United States
    fusee-primary chainloads fusee-secondary, which (very slowly) boots the system.
    When booting with hekate fss0, hekate extracts the contents of fusee-secondary, then hekate itself (very quickly) boots the system.

    The end result of both is identical, once you're in the OS there's no difference.
     
    popy likes this.
  16. popy

    popy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Austria
    Thx, does also all ips patches work?
    Thx

    Gesendet von meinem ONEPLUS A6013 mit Tapatalk
     
  17. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,086
    Country:
    United States
    exefs ips patches work with both (they’re applied by something else later on)
    kip1 ips patches are only supported in fusee, hekate has its own kip1 patching system
     
    popy likes this.
  18. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to get atmosphere booting without having it show 5,000 different boot screens? I feel like it's just wasting our time showing off it's logos and artwork. SX OS doesn't pull this crap.
     
  19. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,086
    Country:
    United States
    They don't extend the boot time.
    But if you use hekate you can skip all of the ones that aren't present in stock.
     
    Last edited by ZachyCatGames, Jan 18, 2021
    popy likes this.
  20. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,938
    Country:
    United States
    What if I just delete the picture files, will that help? And SX OS and Horizon OFW both take about half the time as Atmosphere to boot, so I'd argue it does add time.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere, payloads, through