Asbestos Installer v1.2

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Smartpal, Feb 8, 2011.

Feb 8, 2011

Asbestos Installer v1.2 by Smartpal at 12:35 PM (1,285 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Smartpal
    OP

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    kmeaw released a newer version of the asbestos installer which lets you load up linux without an ethernet cable. I've tested it myself and it works. [​IMG] Really blurred screen though for some reason but atleast it's progress.

    AsbestOS Installer v1.2
     
  2. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    It'll still be a while before someone (wishful thinking would be nvidia, but most likely have to be some other guy) can make a proper RSX driver.

    Once that happens, I'll be all for Linuxing again. And hopefully having things work right this time. I never could figure out why half the time an installation always seemed to bork, even when using fresh discs to burn, and the like, one install would bork immediately after an update, while the next would actually still work fine.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    TVs are very blurry compared to computer monitors.

    People just don't notice most of the time because they sit like 1.5 feet from their monitor, but like 9 feet from their TV...
     
  4. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    For SDTV's this is true, but if you're using a modern TV, it's shouldn't be any worse than many computer monitors. I don't know what resolutions this Linux is running in, but 720p or 1080p shouldn't, in general, give a blurry picture. Even 480p (EDTV) shouldn't be blurry, just low resolution compared to HD. Not sure about 1080i, the interlacing may cause issues, that's part of the problem with SDTV, it's all interlaced. Of course, you'll get the best results running at your set's native resolution, scaling it could introduce blurriness, I suppose. Still, nowhere near the way SDTV's were blurry.
     
  5. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    this has always been the case with every "TV" in my personal experience. Even when using VGA or component video cables for example. Even now, it's difficult to get a graphics card with a native HDMI unless you're settling for a low-end or home theater specific model of video card. Most of the high-end gamer cards that you'd want to play games at such simply don't bother with them.
     
  6. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    I disagree.
     
  7. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Again, you're also listing fairly new cards too. The fastest thing I have here is a GTX 285, which came about way before HDMI on a PC graphics card was anything beyond one of those jerry-rig adapters that you had to plug in to a DVI port.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    A computer monitor at 1024x768 is more than 720p.
    Yes, computers have had HD since like windows 95.

    TVs suck, tech-wise.
     

Share This Page