Anyregionchanger and 4.2E

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by karl10247, Dec 8, 2009.

Dec 8, 2009

Anyregionchanger and 4.2E by karl10247 at 7:19 PM (2,311 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i stupidly updated to 4.2E on a hacked wiikey 1.

    I want to use anyregionchanger to fully change my wii region to 4.2U (all my games are NTSC) including the wii shop channel. Is this possible and is it safe?

    Btw my current wii shop channel is asking me to update when i click on it, ergo i dont think thats up to 4.2 firmware (like hell im gonna let it update... i've learned)

    can anyone help plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz? [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. propered

    Member propered GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyregion changer is a bit oldschool esp... for 4.0+
    you should be using
    the obvious guides available ..or firware updater 4.2, or dopios v9 etc

    btw if all your games are dvd/backup NTSC they wont work on 4.2 if your wii is UK system

    i used the firmware updater 4.2 which updated my shop to v17 not v18 which is region specific i believe...read around on the guides
     
  3. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah all my games are backup NTSC, im using gecko or gamma right now to play them but its a drag.

    so you say firmware updater 4.2 can change my region? are there any tutorials or owt for me to follow.....?
     
  4. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think im going to need some more information before i attempt this....

    can anyone else help with a tutorial etc?

    thanks in advance
     
  5. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    i changed my region on 4.1, so you should be ok, but look for a guide, and if you don't see any, don't do it!
    unless you have bootmii as boot2, then try it out [​IMG]
     
  6. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right i attempted to use the safe udater to change the region, it gives me:

    ok to continue (A or B)
    region detected as PAL, is this correct (A yes B no)

    When i hit B to change the region to US it comes up with something like

    Operation aborted, too dangerous to proceed

    What gives?
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    why not downgrade to 4.0 or 4.1 and then try again
     
  8. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is it safe to downgrade? i thought it wasnt when your on 4.2

    besides isnt that just increasing the work to be done?
    do you know if anyregionchanger is safe on 4.2 cos i might just give that a blast if it is
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    not sure if it's compatible with 4.2 if you've got bootmii as boot2 give it a try you can always just revert back
     
  10. propered

    Member propered GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DO NOT CHANGE YOUR REGION on/with v4.2

    downgrade to 4.1
    make nand back up then try it but don't use 4.2 updater I only said that because i thought you were only on about the shop region !!

    there was something here...not sure what version they were on about
    http://irc.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=173601
     
  11. KTroopA

    Member KTroopA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can i ask what did u change please in anyregion changer. i want to move from 4.1E to 4.1U like u did. will i need to reinstall preloader once ive changed the region?
     
  12. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ARC will remove Preloader aswell as any other update method as it installs a new system menu
    you will brick normally partial but at times fully with an out of region system menu your sysconf and setting.txt files will also need altering for a complete region change.
    The latest update to the shop will also break shop region changing.
    I wouldn't mess with region changing without bootmii or on 4.2 epecially now after all the bricked region changed Korean Wiis.

    If i were to do it i would first downgrade----region change---------update

    Theres plenty of hacks and apps to get round region issues to not bother
     
  13. KTroopA

    Member KTroopA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    thank you, makes sense. im gona stay on PAL and use region hacks like you say. cheers
     
  14. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right i've been reading your answers and downgraded my wii to 4.1 (thats half the battle won)

    So is it straight forward to use ARC now to change my region to US? I essentially just want the shop channel in US but i dont mind changing the whole console if its easier.

    Now im back on 4.1 i can at least use my US backups again thank god!
     
  15. Dmon84

    Member Dmon84 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Country:
    Germany
    For shure you will get problems if you wanna upgrade in the future. just use Priiloader and region free hack on 4.1. its much safer than messing with such old apps.
     
  16. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. karl10247
    OP

    Newcomer karl10247 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Success! I figured it out and im sorted now

    For those who are unfamiliar and are stuck on 4.2 just follow the "modify" part in xzxeros softmodding guide then do the "downgrade" bit to get to 4.1

    Following that i used anyregionchanger to change my shop channel to US extremely easily (its self explanatory if you just run ARC)

    Just one point to note... after id changed my shop channel i got an error using the US shop, something like error 20958 or something. To get around this i reverted back to my PAL shop channel region, went into the shop and deleted my account (start shopping->settings->remove account) then changed my shop region back to US and it now works like a charm.

    Thanks to those who've helped [​IMG]
     
  18. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    glad you did it! it should have been as simply as going from 4.2 to 4.1 (there are guides for this) and then from 4.1 to 4.0 of another region (there are guides for this).
    then, when you are the region you want, just use the nintendo update to get to 4.2 and clean out your wii, and then it takes like 5 minutes to get it hacked nicely [​IMG]
     

Share This Page