Anyone still interested in an Aero Moonshell2 theme?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by twiztidsinz, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I've been working on an Aero theme for Moonshell2 since SE7EN is still v0.7, and the rumored v2.0 seems to have disappeared.
    The theme is "done enough" for me, but still has some unskinned elements still and lacks any polish that should be on a theme.

    If there is interest in this, I'll work on finishing it up and then release it.
    If for some reason I cannot finish, I will upload all the images (and PSDs) to make the skin so that someone can finish.

    Newest version includes the source files + app needed to build the skin.


    Here's the final release: Aero Ultimate v0.11
    http://filetrip.net/g25122980-Aero-Ultimat...Moonshell2.html


    Set Up screen:
    [​IMG]

    File Browser showing all icons and the Application Launcher:
    [​IMG] . [​IMG]
    Note: The NDS icon is for Games that do not have an icon, or have an icon Moonshell cannot read.

    Default, Digital and Extra clocks:
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Clocks are a tad lighter when looking at the DS... the Extra clock looks very nice and is easy to read.


    TODO List:
    • Fix calender colors on all clocks
    • Skin various menu backgrounds
    • Media Player
    • Various editor backgrounds
    • Skin Accessory/Application screen
    • Better name/style for Acc/App screen
    • Days on the digital clock
     
  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    looking good might wanna make one for m3 sakura too?[​IMG]
    nah im kidding m3 has about 10 aero themes
    yeah its good i think you should:
    1 unified theme like not blue on the setting,black in the menu one color all round will llook great(Or supply us with different wallpapers to use with it)
    Remove instructions on top
    make the start button menu look like a window opened
    Get an aero scrollbar
    otherwise good job [​IMG]
     
  3. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The "Aero" scrollbar is rather plain silver/gray and non-transparent.
    I have one made, but I switched back because of a scroll bar bug (that I have since fixed).
    I will probably put the "Aero" one back in the next time I build the skin.
     
  4. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    so any updates
     
  5. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... I've been slowly poking at it.
    Been kinda busy with family stuff and dreading skinning the Media Player portion of Moonshell [​IMG]
     
  6. Uncle FEFL

    Member Uncle FEFL OBJECTION!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    PM me for Social Security information
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with Rockstar; you should have the Pause button window be a file explorer window. [​IMG]

    If the Ultimate Strands is the second pic (I'm guessing it is), I like that as the background.
     
  7. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    xD Lame idea just popped up. Someone should make a windows error skin, but anyways the skin looks pretty amazing.
    I think maybe the NDS Rom and movie icons could be a little smaller to match the other icons (they look like they are using the whole size while the other icons aren't). The setup screen looks slightly empty (but that is probably just me, too used to seeing that slim bar around the lower options). Somehow the minimize/maximize/close bar on the Application Launcher looks misplaced (probably because it is added more for an opened window look than for anything else).
     
  8. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Could a mod/admin change the topic to something like "Aero Ultimate Moonshell2 Skin"?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    New and Final version... v0.11
    Not much has changed (some minor fixes), but includes the source and PSD files I used.
     
  10. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey, I'm working on my own skin too but I've a problem: How can I make the white parts invisible?
    Hope someone understand me and knows the answer [​IMG]
     
  11. twiztidsinz
    OP

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    What white parts?

    If you hold the select button Moonshell will take a screenshot of what's shown.
     
  12. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No that is not what I mean.
    I have made pictures for the media player. But to come on the resolution, I have white parts on the sides.
    When I make a skin of that, I got that white parts still in my skin. This is the same by icons for music etc.
    How to make that white invisible so I got the background color there?
     
  13. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I think I know your problem. Depending on how it was saved as well as what image editor you used, the transparency may have not been saved. MSPaint for one can't save transparencies. If you have Gimp or another decent image editor, you can just add an alpha channel (allow the image to use transparency on the current image layer) and then just delete the white spaces that you don't want and save the image (.png and .gif formats support transparency, although MS2 uses only .png and .bmp) with the transparency and it should turn out correctly.
     
  14. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanx I gonna try that gimp [​IMG]
     

Share This Page