Anyone notice the Hdtv option in the settings?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by ichigo Kurusaki, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. ichigo Kurusaki
    OP

    Newcomer ichigo Kurusaki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    in a box....
    Country:
    Canada
    Today i was just checking out the settings and came across the Hdtv. Does anyone know how to make it work?
     
  2. Satirical

    Newcomer Satirical Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to have a Wii Component Cable (Retail for around £8.80) plug it into your Wii and then into your Component-IN on your HDTV and it wont be grayed out.

    Then go in options and put on HDTV...

    It turns it from 480i to 480p (Interlaced to Progressive)

    It is considerably better quality, and I highly recommend it, especially if you get smudged pixels or low resolution problems.

    ~Sat
     
  3. ichigo Kurusaki
    OP

    Newcomer ichigo Kurusaki Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    in a box....
    Country:
    Canada
    Hehe kk thanks for the quick reply
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    don't buy the cheap cables they suck
     
  5. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    QFT.

    Seriously, you might not think there is a different but there is and its quite alarming, I always try to buy first party cables or at least direct OEM clones from dealextreme.
     
  6. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Aren't the ones from Dealextreme cheap? So how do you know which to buy?
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yep there is a diff buying the cheap ones i got some off ebay and they sucked. dont ever buy them from hong kong!
     
  8. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    DX wii component cables are great.
     
  9. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I got a cheap set from Amazon.com... had a $10 gift card, and didn't pay a penny for them...

    They work perfectly, and I've not had a single problem with them... not sure how much they are on DX, but I got them on Amazon for $8-$9... shipped...
     
  10. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    I got a component cable from my local game store about a year ago, it is Wii, xbox 360 and PS3 compatible and it cost about as much as the official Wii HDMI cable. The quality of the picture I get from it is excellent, just as good as when I plug my PS3 or Xbox 360 in via HDMI.
     
  11. innercy

    Member innercy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    i use cheap component cable from dealextreme and the pic look great.compare side by side with original wii component cable, i can't see any differences. [​IMG]
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you want ones with gold connecters too their better
     
  13. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Hardly matters for 480p. Not even the official one has golden connectors.
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    gold is a better conductor though.
     
  15. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    It really dosent make a difference, like I said I get the same picture with a cheapo component cable that I get with a much more expensive HDMI cable. (which has gold connectors)
     
  16. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    silver and copper (Which is what those cable connectors are made of (copper), they just look gold ;-) ) are better conductors...but then again this has nothing that much to do with how the signal is output. The problem lays in what is used inside the cable. Lower grade copper wiring (which is often used in cheaper products because cheap production costs) will reduce the quality of picture being output....I think.
     
  17. Dack

    Member Dack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope silver and copper are both better than gold. Just that both are more prone to tarnishing as they oxidise. More so if you have dissimilar metals in contact.

    Gold is more maleable metal though and so forms a good connection as it deforms when you put it on
     

Share This Page