Any risks to using r4 with ds lite?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Axel_Foley, Sep 9, 2010.

Sep 9, 2010
  1. Axel_Foley
    OP

    Newcomer Axel_Foley Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was wondering if there are any risks involved in using a r4 with your ds lite. Such as viruses etc, which could possibly lead to it been bricked.
     
  2. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    DS viruses are basically non existant. Just be careful what you download.
     
  3. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,733
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well with the wrong R4 Clone you do run the risk of blowing a fuse, but that's about all I know and that normally happens with flashcard clones/fakes
    Still if you get an R4 like this one, you should be just fine
     
  4. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There have been one or two homebrew viruses that can basically brick the DS lite in the past, but they're extraordinarily rare and nobody has distributed it.

    There's no risk in using an R4DS on your DS Lite, the only thing that you need to look out for is that you don't buy a fake R4DS.
    Any R4DS that claims SDHC or DSi support is fake, and anything else silly like Ultra, King, etc.
    They don't pose any threat to your DS Lite, but they have crappy software support and are generally unreliable.
    If you get an original R4DS like this one at shoptemp, and install Wood R4, it'll play mostly every game just fine.
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,733
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well there are some cards that have been known to blow fuses, like Fake DSTT or N5 to look out for
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's an R4i, R4 Advance, R4 Upgrade etc you run the risk that people will think why on earth didn't you buy a better flashcart. People will also be able to point and you and say, N000000b.

    If you get an R4 get one from ShopTemp as it will run Wood, read the Wood guide in my signature. Remember they only use MicroSD cards upto 2GB. Otherwise consider the Acekard 2, EZ-Flash Vi or DSTWO in order of how much money you have.

    You won't get a virus, and it won't harm your DS.
     
  7. Schicksalsheld

    Member Schicksalsheld GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Germany
    No one distribute this Viruses (CrashMe) at this Time, but its possible (i have Taihen on my Harddrive =)
     
  8. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    just be careful with what games you download, I remember there was a DQIX rom that bricked your ds, it was right before DQIX came out also.
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I think the only risk you may encounter is to your sanity while fumbling through various firmwares trying to get the latest games working on an R4. There are so many clones and knock-offs calling themselves R4 that it's not even funny anymore. Very few of them have active firmware support by the people who made them, so you are reliant on the good graces of hackers to provide you with a firmware that fixes games. That just has to be more frustrating than it's worth.
     
  10. slimpyman

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    i blew my fuse... sucked. no working ds.
     
  11. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    xD I was never able to find that Taihen bricker on the net (though what I would do with such a thing, I have no idea).
     

Share This Page