Anti-virus

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by playallday, May 6, 2009.

May 6, 2009

Anti-virus by playallday at 8:08 PM (1,020 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    ,
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  2. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Avira!
     
  3. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Well I could send you my pirated version of Kaspersky with a key that won't expire till maybe October. And I can tell you how to update the databases while offline.
     
  4. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I second this.

    Antivir is probably the best free antivirus you are going to get: Top notch detection, light memory usage, low cpu usage, etc. It has a couple of disadvantages too like sometimes it can be overly sensitive, but they aren't that much of an issue backed up with common sense, at least you know its working.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First step is obviously to disable autoplay, second is strongly consider running as a limited user on Windows.

    Next I suggest comodo internet security and you amp up the protection. It has a nice option of getting you to okay major changes to registry, system folders, access to services, access to other programs and the like (it acts as a more targeted and less annoying version of Vista's UAC, somewhat in line with a multi user version of linux). This is what you really want if you are going paranoid as just updating a database is pointless with current current malware.

    Optional: you run a virtual machine and get it to how you want it before taking an image. Then only use such things inside your virtual machine, current virtual machines are very fast and if this is for simple stuff then all is good (games might pose a slight problem). Similar option is always use a liveCD/similar.

    As for linux do you want AV for linux malware or AV that runs on linux but detects it all. I have fairly little experience with linux AV software (at least to the extent that I have with Windows, a situation mirrored by most people I should imagine) but stick with clam AV (I know it is manual but it works).
     
  6. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Already done. Autoplay sucks big time.

    Sooo... Comodo will tell me if something is happening? Good or bad? I'm not a fan of virtual machine's because the only thing I'll be doing on this computer is playing games.

    I want a Linux AV to find Windows viruses, just to be sure I'm 100% virus free [​IMG] .
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can set what levels you want but as a broad stroke it monitors the system files/directories (stuff like the hosts file, windows directory and whatever else, for instance mine just flashed up when Flash decided it wanted to stick a file in the windows directory as part of an update check), the registry (I have it set to the critical areas as the registry is an unfortunate somewhat archaic part of windows and for every change I would be perpetually pressing OK), services, other files in memory (many games like to do this as part of their checks for stuff like daemon tools but it is also a hijack method).
    I warn you though you need to know a little bit about the way a machine works if you want to go as paranoid as you appear to want to go (it will often flash up on the directX input (emulation and games naturally being major users of it) as a potential "keylogger" due to the way it works for example).
    Basically it covers all the things malware needs to work "properly" (that is start/autolaunch and/or alter your system in a major way*)
    You also have options to OK everything on an application by application basis, it usually appears as follows:
    [​IMG]

    *some malware encrypts "my documents" or something similar and holds you to ransom, I have not seen any myself but it is out there.

    As many will tell you though there is no way to be 100% safe other than no network or external devices.
     
  8. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, that's what I thought it did but I wasn't sure. And thanks for calling me paranoid [​IMG] .
     
  9. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hijacking this thread to ask about disabling Autorun ...

    How do you disable *all* instances of Autorun? Obviously I'm talking about audio/data/mixed CD (Thanks Windows for making my life so difficult), USB & anything else I'm missing?
     
  10. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless you are super extreme ultra hyper paranoid about it and want instant fix, you could wait. Microsoft are meant to be phasing autorun out through updates for xp and vista to bring them in line with windows 7's style.
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A way it to select the take no action and you be able to set it to "do this from now on". This is at best a kludge though. Note you can also hold shift to stop autoplay when clicking on a drive (ironically this was a way to prevent some copy protection working a while back: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2003/10/08/sh...eaks_latest_cd/ , the company actually went legal mode to try and prevent it http://www.theregister.co.uk/2003/10/09/su..._sue_shift_key/ )

    Easy way if you know your way around a system needing no extra tools:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/967715

    Easiest way is to download something like xp-antispy ( http://www.xp-antispy.org/ ) or some other tweaking app and get that to do it.
     
  12. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hahahaha, stupid RIAA and co. When will they learn...
     

Share This Page