Android internet question

Discussion in 'Android' started by Black_Knight_666, Apr 2, 2011.

Apr 2, 2011
  1. Black_Knight_666
    OP

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    ok so if i use an android phone running os 2.2 and use it as a wireless access point using connectify, (im with optus on a unlimited mobile data plan) can i connect my 3ds to it and have unlimited internet?
     
  2. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    if your 3DS can access it, some devices do not connect. I have a HTC running a Wifi program, and my iPAD connects, as does my WII, but the Ps3 does not.

    Wynd
     
  3. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Does it let you choose what kind of access point you're setting up? If it's something simple like WEP or an unprotected connection it shouldn't be much of a problem.
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've noticed that whilst anything can connect to my HTC Desire HD, it's an entirely different story on my dad's HTC Wildfire. The quality of the wifi adaptor inside the phone (and in the connecting devices) probably also determines how successfully the wifi hotspot will work.
     
  5. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    derp


    you should be fine
     
  6. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    You need need to check if your device and that software support ad-hoc, infrastructure, or both.

    A DS cannot connect to an ad-hoc device and requires an infrastructure connection.

    Even if it wil connect this does not guarantee it will be useful for gaming. Wireless data connections can vary greatly depending on location and provider.
     

Share This Page