Am I up to date? dsixl and acerkard 1

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by elboz, Feb 29, 2012.

Feb 29, 2012
  1. elboz
    OP

    Newcomer elboz Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I have a dsixl and acekard version 1 I believe it is, would like to know if Im up to date. Purchased card with newest frimware in dec 2011. Have not update the dsi or the acekard since then or added new games.

    Tried adding newer games finally and they wouldnt play, wondering if im not up to date. Or maybe bad rips of the games.

    DsiXl is on 1.4.1.us..i dont know how to check which update is on the acekard?

    Do I need to update? or am I already up to date.Thaaaankss
     
  2. Click This

    Member Click This Surgite!

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Location:
    New York, New York
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard version 1? There's no such thing that works for the DSi. Surely you mean the Acekard 2i?
    To check what version you have, go to Start in the menu, More ->, and then help. It should say what version you have in the bottom.
    Current version is AKAIO 1.8.9.
     
  3. elboz
    OP

    Newcomer elboz Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah my mistake..big mistake..correct acekard 2 is what I have..just thought it was older since I just got a new card for a 3d and it has newer label.

    So my acekard version is 1.8.1. ..any chance you can point me in the direction on how to update? And do i need an older ds for me to do this?

    Also do I need to update the dsixl, currently at 1.4.1?

    thanks again
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the ak2/2.1 does not work on the dsi/3ds. so again, do you mean the 2i?

    -another world
     
  5. emugirl1994

    Newcomer emugirl1994 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard 2 only works for DS and DS Lite. The 2i in Acekard 2i means it works for DSi.
     
  6. elboz
    OP

    Newcomer elboz Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I meant the 2i
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    ok so you have the 2i and you have a dsi running 1.4.3? the bootloader of the acekard determines if the acekard will load on the dsi. if you are able to boot the card and see the akaio menu, then your issue is not with the acekard bootloader.

    for more information on updating the bootloader read this: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Updating_the_AK2i_Bootloader

    to play the newest, latest, and greatest ROMs you will need to have the most recent version of akaio on your micro sd card.

    as far as the dsi, there really is no reason to update. the updates always said they were doing something new and mostly they just blocked flash kits. my xl has 1.4.1 (by choice) and i'm using my 2i with it. so don't worry about the dsi firmware.

    -another world
     
  8. elboz
    OP

    Newcomer elboz Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks yeah exactly what I want to do, but my DSIxl is on 1.4.1 like yours, my acekard 2i is on 1.8.1, it boots fine at the moment, I have the Alex Rider image when i boot, all roms Ive had for a year work fine,my only problem is I cant boot up some new roms, so just want to be up to date to see if thats the problem.

    Do i leave the dsi on the firmware its on and just update the acekard? And for the instructions above do I need an older ds? Thanks again
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    do not touch the dsi firwmare, do not touch the acekard bootloader.

    follow the numbered list i quoted above to reformat (because its good practice) and install the latest AKAIO kernel. once that is done you will be able to play the latest ROMs.

    -another world
     

Share This Page