Hacking Am I screwed? PS3 Hard drive question

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
So, after seeing everyone mentioning that large hard drives can be used to store ISO files for ps3, I got a 4TB drive thinking that would be a better solution than a 2tb since it was only $20 more. When I have the drive plugged in as NTFS, it does not seem to be recognized in multiman, irisman, or webman. The drive light is on and I can hear it working but no luck getting anything to show up.

Am I out of luck here? How can I make this usable? If I try to use FAT32, I cannot use the entire 4TB to my understanding. The hard drive is a WD Easy Store 4TB hard drive. I would prefer to have it NTFS to work around the 4gb file size limits but at this point making this entire 4tb drive useable is my main concern. Any suggestions?
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
Prepntfs? Multiman has it
ahh yes I have used this and still no luck getting anything to show up in any of those 3 programs. Is it possible the drive is not getting enough power and may need to use a Y cable? The light is on and I hear it spinning but no luck with getting the drive to show up any where.
 

Spider_Man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,762
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
4,670
Country
United States
if it is external it wont support 4TB.

Format the drive and create a 3TB partition.

But then again why are you using NTFS when you can split large game files and MM will join them when you select the game.
 
Last edited by ,

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
It is an external hard drive. I was going to use NTFS because you cannot use more than 2 TB for fat 32 to my knowledge. I would like to have the whole drive readable and it seems other people have had success doing so?
 

Spider_Man

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,762
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
4,670
Country
United States
It is an external hard drive. I was going to use NTFS because you cannot use more than 2 TB for fat 32 to my knowledge. I would like to have the whole drive readable and it seems other people have had success doing so?
only by splitting the partition and using the above that the other user mentioned.

when partitioning the drive make sure you format using the right cluster sizes, you could say partition 1x3TB and 1x1TB, use the 3TB for games with files larger than 4GB and the 1TB partition for games with files under 4GB.

or personally i just format my entire drive as FAT32, any files larger than 4GB i split them.
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
Ok, so one way or the other this drive can be formatted in a way to have all the space useable? I am really only concerned with getting the space out of it. How would you format it all to fat 32? That would make it easier but I keep seeing only 2TB is possible for Fat32.
 

Byokugen

Unit_01
Member
Joined
May 16, 2016
Messages
1,541
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Just a bit to the right, or was left...
XP
1,064
Country
Serbia, Republic of
Ok, so one way or the other this drive can be formatted in a way to have all the space useable? I am really only concerned with getting the space out of it. How would you format it all to fat 32? That would make it easier but I keep seeing only 2TB is possible for Fat32.
Split it. Simply creae 2 partitions
 

JiveTheTurkey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
467
Country
United States
I had a Sata Y-connector and my ps3 never recognized the drive until I used a HDD Bay. I think it could have been extra power or the ps3 just formatted the drive when I swapped HDDs.
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
So I should format the drive into 2 partitions then? Is it possible to have the entire 4tb be one fat 32 partition? Or would it be best to do 3tb ntfs and 1tb fat 32. Or should I do 2 partitions both fat 32? How will the PS3 see the 2nd partition or is that not a problem?
 

driverdis

I am Justice
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
2,854
Trophies
2
Age
30
Location
1.048596β
XP
2,679
Country
United States
So I should format the drive into 2 partitions then? Is it possible to have the entire 4tb be one fat 32 partition? Or would it be best to do 3tb ntfs and 1tb fat 32. Or should I do 2 partitions both fat 32? How will the PS3 see the 2nd partition or is that not a problem?

That is not a problem, I would just do two 2TB NTFS Partitions and make sure the drive is using MBR, not GPT for partition table.

you can do either NTFS or FAT32, just make sure the drive is MBR, since a 4TB HDD is by default GPT partition table. Any decent formatting utility can change that.

I use AOMEI or EaseUS partition manager to format stuff as either of them can handle formatting FAT32 over 32GB and can change a drive to or from GPT.
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
This is such crap, I cannot format this thing more than 2TB on either NTFS or FAT32. It wants to leave the rest unallocated. Then if I try to use the rest for a 2nd partition I Get like 20 gb to use on the 2nd partition and over 1tb just sitting there unused. Why is this so picky? I have never had issues like this hard drive is giving me....

I have tried Easeus, Aomel, and miniaid and each one is giving me the same crap. I did someone get the unallocated 4tbs worth showing as MBR somehow... but not doing me any good if I cannot split these partitions.

Apparently I can get 2 fat 32 partitions in GPT but then cannot convert them to MBR... It keeps saying 2tb is the max

Guess this was a waste
 
Last edited by Ohgr,

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
What tools did you guys use to do this? Not sure why I am having such a hard time. I do have another 4tb hard drive I ordered. This was going to be for my ps4 but wanted to try to use it on the ps3. The other one is a Seagate 4tb maybe that will have better luck.

WD is apparently a pile of junk, I cannot do anything on this. How are people getting 1 fat32 drive out of this. Then others are able to split into 2 - 2tb fat32 drives. No partition software will let me touch the other 2tbs after I create one fat 32 2tb partition.
 
Last edited by Ohgr,

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
So, another test failed. I tried to make a single 900 gb partition for fat 32 set as primary 32 cluster size. Still cannot get this hard drive to show up in Irisman, Webman, or Multiman. I tried my Y cable to see if maybe it was a power issue. Still nothing. WHAT THE HELL ><
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
Seriously I cannot get any damn hard drive to work. I have bought 2 different hard drives now and cannot format them in a way the ps3 will read them. I have a 4TB WD Easy store and a 4TB Seagate Expansion portable drive. If I make the drive MBR which I hear is what I need, then I can only use 2TB of space max. I have tried this and used a fat 32 with 32 cluster size on both drives. I have tried GPT format and doing 1.8TB partitions of Fat 32. This did not work either. I have tried connecting both drives to a Y cable to see if the power was the issue. NONE of this has worked. Neither drive will show up in multiman, webman, or irisman. Can ANYONE help? This is so frustrating. Below are the drives I got. IS THERE ANYWAY to make this work?

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-eas...able-hard-drive-black/5792405.p?skuId=5792405

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178817
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
I have just read that there are a lot of issues with USB 3.0 drives on the ps3. Wish I read that sooner. Is it possible that a USB hub might work for me as I see it has worked for others
 

Ohgr

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
50
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
152
Country
United States
Anyone? What is the issue? If these just won't work can someone tell me a large hard drive that will.. How are people getting their drives setup?
 

Lmaokernel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Location
CA
XP
152
Country
United States
Anyone? What is the issue? If these just won't work can someone tell me a large hard drive that will.. How are people getting their drives setup?
I thought the ps3 couldn't read from drives over 3TB and it has to be self powered. Making a 3tb partition on your 4tb I think would work. My drives are usb 2.0 though so maybe that's why

Sent from my toaster running Rebug
 
Last edited by Lmaokernel,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    I'll Stop Being Like This. OK?
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    It's Just That I Have Been Having a Hard Time Ever Since That I Saw Awful Hate Images of Ami Onuki, Sky (Friday Night Funkin'), Rabbids and Teen Titans Go. I Just Wish that People Would Change and Start Making Fan Art of Ami Onuki, Sky, Rabbids and Teen Titans Go Instead of Just Making Hate Art out of Them for a Change.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @captainbob321 can you type normally, its kind of annoying
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    nobody capitalizes every word like that
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i'm sure there's fan art too, but what does it matter? if people hate them, that's their opinion and they're free to have it, that doesn't affect you at all
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Is your caps lock key on or have you been high?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    just accept that people have different opinions and thats fine
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i think you are taking things too seriously if thats all it takes to make you have a "hard time"
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I like hard times
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @AncientBoi especially does
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, Gets real rough, doesn't it? :D
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    "Is your caps lock key on or have you been high?" No I'm Not High, and I'm Sorry. Maybe I'm Just Getting Paranoid.
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    Everything Sometimes Annoy Me. But I Changed My Actions Now
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    and I'm outside Looking at the sky
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    I Mean, Look at the Sky. It's Nice.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Can't tell if this dude is actually 34 or not
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I doubt it
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    He's like a Luke94 clone but more annoying
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I haven't seen Luke94 in a while
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psychiatrists doesn't sound too bad right now if you get this worked up over a website
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I feel for the mods having to put up with spambots and cry babies
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    This is why I don't want to be staff on websites
    +1
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    Get Angry at me If You Want
    captainbob321 @ captainbob321: Get Angry at me If You Want