Alright. Just bought a Slim PS2. Modding advice?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Devin, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I traded my old laptop, for a PSP 1000, and a black slim PS2. Right now, these are my questions.

    1.Is my PS2 hackable?
    2.If so, how do I do it? (Without paying for something specifically.)
    3.Are extra materials needed?
    4.How much does it cost?
    5.Is burning a PS2 iso the same as burning a Wii iso?
    6.Is there CFW for the PS2? Which is the latest?
    7.Are their modchips for the PS2?
    8.If so is it easier to install then doing a softmod?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    If I need something. (I've seen something like a swap magic?) Will anyone let me borrow theirs? I'd be greatful.

    I'm used to the PSP/Wii/DS/ scene, but the PS2 is new territory. Thanks.

    NOTE: I saw the softmod guide stickied, at the top of the forum, but it said it was outdated. Thanks.
     
  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    Return it, get a fat PS2, get a network adapter, softmod, put in harddrive, play games. That's what I did.

    I spent about $50-60 on my PS2 and network adapter. $7 on Agent under fire to mod it. $0 on my old harddrive to use as a game device. Now I need some decent controllers and memory cards.

    You shouldn't have to buy too many materials if done smartly.



    Offtopic: Now I want the devices needed to plug my PS2 into my monitor via DVI or VGA and plug both of those audio cables into a single audio-in jack. Any tips would help!
     
  3. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Can't. Traded it with someone. I'm used to the PSP already.

    Cool, but doesn't help me.

    It's possible, there were VGA cables included in the PS2 Linux bundle, but they only work when booted into Linux.
     
  4. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    your slim is hackable if it is not 9000x, because that version fixes the exploit they use for fmcb

    there are modchips but dont bother if you are not good at soldering (small points, and unless you have a v14-16, you will be soldering onto small ic legs).

    if you want to play of hd, trade it in like the guy above me said, but if you want discs, keep it.
     
  5. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Where are the numbers I look for when I want to see which number my PS2's at?

    Yeah, I have a whole bunch of blank DVD/CD's lying around so I'm sticking with it.
     
  6. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's a sticker on the bottom that has the model number printed on it (scph-xxxxx).
     
  7. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've looked into this a bit myself (also have a Slim) and it seems the easiest way would be to buy a SwapMagic, then use it boot uLaunchElf, which can then boot burned discs, ISOs off USB, etc etc. I haven't actually done it myself yet, but I've heard it works alright. Although I wouldn't know what to tell you in terms of compatibility.
     
  8. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Meh....My local Gamestop has 007 for $3.99, so I'll just do the Free MCboot softmod.
     
  9. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    You do know its much harder if you do it that way right?
     
  10. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Uh, no. Completed in 20 minutes.

    1.Bought the game.
    2.Dumped the game.
    3.Patched the iso.
    4.Put files on my PSP.
    5.Block sensors on PS2. (So, it doesn't know I switched the disks.)
    6.Played 007 till driving level.
    7.Swapped discs.
    8.Loaded the installer.
    9.??????
    10.Profit.

    The PS2 Slim is held together by 6 little phillip head screws. Play'd some Mario last night. [​IMG]
    ----------------------

    My next question is how I would use Action Replay, or Code Breaker codes on ESR. Or with ESR. Any help?
     
  11. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could you not just burn the discs, or do they not work?
     
  12. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can, but it would be easier to install it on the MC.
     

Share This Page