AKAIO/Official and DSI closing glitch

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Chris_Skylock, Jun 21, 2009.

Jun 21, 2009
  1. Chris_Skylock
    OP

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I just received a PM that contains a problem with his Acekard 2i and his DSi. I'll translate every single line as best as I could for you to understand in english.

    hello fellow chris, thanks for the suggestion and it works when i load the official acekard firmware when the "closing the top screen glitch". today I can close the top screen anywhere in the game when I turn off my DSi (i tried Zelda, Castlevania Eclesia and Metalslug 7) but on Castlevania Dawn of sorro, it's turning off (I'll check the other games)

    you're right, the firmware for the newer cards are in box and not in blister pack that are packaged the problem and not hardware that are defective (hwid 44 are the first acekard 2i that are in the see through blister that were not in production anymore and hwid 81 that are in cardboard box that are in manufacturing about 3-4 months ago). since the AKAIO is most talked here in GBATEMP, I didnt used the official right away.

    atleast i got a low chance that my acekard is glitchy when i close it in-game. my only regret is that I cant use the AKAIO firmware at the moment (May Normath and Smiths can fix this), because Im used to it for it's sooooooo easy to use. (even the official firmware is slow but it's just ok).

    Oh well. problem kinda solved (i hope the strenghten the hinge of the DSi, 'cus i have to test a lot of games). dont get me wrong, it's still a Big improvement than having the nagging feeling that I own a bad card and for that I am grateful. Again I would like to thank you Chris, for your suggestion.


    -----


    Even though he loaded the official one, the problem is still there but it was lessen. When I suggested he use the official firmware is that it may fix the problem as it might be similar to other products when it suddenly is turning off. Im no expert at this so I need some more suggestions. The Bug tracker is not reponding so Im posting this instead
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    this is really hard to read, so many run-on sentences. what does he mean there is a closing glitch? you mean he can't put the dsi into sleep mode?

    -another world
     
  3. Chris_Skylock
    OP

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    when he saves while closing the lid, it's fine but when he move the character, the dsi shuts off. sorry for the sentences as I tried to translate from filipino to english
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your saying there are games that save when the lid closes? or are you saying he saves, and then puts the dsi into sleep mode by closing the lid, right away? has he waited for the save to finish writing? sleep mode might cause the writing of the save to stop and thus error the firmware, forcing a reboot.

    otherwise i'm still really confused =P

    -another world
     
  5. slone

    Newcomer slone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    slone here, pardon my english if it sounds a bit iffy. I didn't post this glitch here because I taught I got a bad cart, but it seems there was another case similar to mine posted here that I recently stumbled across. Here is the link:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=146739

    With the AKAIO 1.4.1 PROPER firmware, the glitch happens after, while playng any rom game, I close the top screen to put the dsi in sleep mode. Normally, it will just temporarily shut the screen off and freeze the game (The blue LED on the upper left of the dsi is still lit so that to show the unit hasn't been fully powered off) but doing so on my HWID 81 springloaded acekard 2i, it turns the dsi completely off. I tinkered around and found out that the only time it doesn't shut down when I close the lid, is right after I save a game via a save spot (eg, Castlevania Order of Eclesia's save rooms). But when I leave the save spot (or more precisely, when the flashcard loads another room, screen, message, etc.) I close the lid and the dsi unit automatically turns itself off.

    The glitch rarely happens when I loaded the latest Acekard official firmware (Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow and SPRUNG, from what I tested, suffered from this glitch, the rest of my games normally resumes after I open the top screen).

    By the way, I am using a unupdated US dsi (ver 1.2U firmware) with a HWID 81 Acekard 2i card (springloaded sd slot version).
    My micso sdhc is a 4gig Apacer class 6 formatted with the Panasonic Formatter.

    It's not really a big deal but it can be very inconvenient when your trying to save your dsi's battery life. Hopefully there is a solution to this rather than buying another flash cart.

    Edit: Yes, Another World, I let the flashcart/game finish the game saving procedures as not to damage the flashcart and corrupt the microsd. A scenario, for example: I load castlevania: order of eclesia without any cheat what so ever and play until I reach a save spot (usually a room with a statue). I'll then choose to save the game then after the screen confirms that my game is already saved, I close top screen and the dsi will properly enter sleepmode, then open the screen again and again to check if it still enters sleep mode properly and it will always never shuts down the dsi. After doing this test inside the said save spot room, I move my character outside the save room (the game will close the screen showing inside the save room and then show the screen outside of the save room with my character just standing near the entrance to the said save room), I close the top screen to see if it enters sleep mode, the sytem completely shuts down (upper blue led power indicator turns off).

    I dont believe that it is a battery problem as said on the post linked. Whatever the battery's charge is, I try these test on AKAIO
    and the result are the same (even when the dsi is plugged into a electric wall socket, charging or fully charged).

    thanks for listening out my problem.
    slone
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your english makes more sense than the translated tagalog =P.

    have you tried this sleep mode issue with a retail ds game? it could be the dsi and you won't know until you use a retail game on it. you should attempt to try the same retail cart for the rom that is giving you issues. have you tried other rom dumps? have you verified that the roms are clean dumps by CRC value? have you tried the other DMA modes on akaio? the default quick-save mode has some glitches, perhaps the old DMA mode would work or the no-DMA mode. castlevania games are very tempermental when it comes to media. it could be your microsd. i believe (without reading again) the OP said you tried different ROMs? just double check by trying 10 or so roms. try those same 10 roms on the official firmware. also try them on akaio with the different dma modes, with all patching off (soft-reset, cheats, rumble, etc).

    -another world
     
  7. slone

    Newcomer slone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yup, I tried it on my original ds Castlevania games,Zelda PH & Mariokart (all bought used from Gamestop via a American friend of mine) and the dsi properly goes into sleep mode. Tried different rom dumps (trimmed and clean ones) and the results are the same (most of the glitch happens with AKAIO loaded) when I try to enter into sleep mode. I’ll do some more tinkering with the ones you suggested.

    Anyways, thanks for your reply, Another World. If anything, it is only a mild issue, no biggie, I’ll just keep the screen open and properly shutdown my dsi when I’ll stop playing. If sleep mode starts to get to me and I happen to like the game, the simple solution is to buy a legit copy of the game (brand new, or used for that matter). But for the sake of improving AKAIO, I’ll try to delve deeper into this issue and post significant findings that I’ll encounter (while trying not spam this board as I respect this site more than other noobs, fanboys filled forums) [​IMG]

    who knows, maybe it's the fact that there are 2 kinds of acekard 2is in circulation, the hwid 44s and the 81s , thus not all new 81s are properly optimized.

    Thanks again,
    slone
     
  8. slone

    Newcomer slone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    SOLVED: AKAIO/Official and DSI closing glitch [​IMG] .

    After taking Another World's advice, even upgrading the language glitch thingie for the hwid 81s that Acekard recently fixed to rereading the AKAIO WIKI, trying the tips and tricks written there on updated AKAIO loaders (global settings, putting all patches at default, using no cheats whatsoever, etc). The answer was DMA Mode and I did what was written in the AKAIO Wiki section DMA Mode, and found the answer there.

    To quote the AKAIO WIKI for those who are also encountering this glitch :

    "DMA Mode

    Games are loaded via DMA mode by default, which enhances performance in many games. AKAIO on the R.P.G. uses DMA on the microSD at all times with currently is no way to turn it off. On the AK2 DMA is active when the "Loading" text turns red or green.

    As of v1.4.1 the new DMA-QuickSave mode has been made default. You can see that this mode is working when the "Loading" text turns green. This new mode fixes video and sound glitches which occur in older patching modes, and offers faster save writing/reading support.

    The original DMA mode can be accessed by holding "X". You can see that this mode is working when the "Loading" text turns red. This uses the same patching method as holding "A" but with the benefit of DMA.

    If you encounter a problem with a particular game, you can disable DMA mode by holding the "A" button while loading. In this case the "Loading" text will stay blue.

    There is no way for users to force the execution of the old DMA mode or the non-DMA mode either globally or on a per-ROM basis. DMA-QuickSave will always run unless the user inturrupts its execution by pressing one of the above mentioned buttons. However, some problem ROMs have been preset through the loaders to access a particular DMA mode. This behavior is normal and can not be overridden. There is currently no collected list of the ROMs which have a preset DMA mode.

    For games that are problematic with DMA mode, please make sure to first update the loaders to the most recent version. Updated loaders can be found at the Loaders Download Page or via Wi-Fi Update from within AKAIO. If you notice a problem even with the latest loaders, please visit the AKAIO ROM Compatibility Page. Add your problematic game as needed by following the on-site instructions".

    End quote.


    -"This new mode fixes video and sound glitches which occur in older patching modes, and offers faster save writing/reading support"-.
    I never really tought about this (big mistake on my part) because every thing was going smoothly (graphics, sounds, and even the in-game loading speed) and it wasn't mentioned in the Wiki (the screen closing/auto shutdown issue).

    -"If you encounter a problem with a particular game, you can disable DMA mode by holding the "A" button while loading. In this case the "Loading" text will stay blue."-

    Having tried what was written under that section as I had a hunch that it's about memory accesing between the loaded games and the flash cart, I loaded any games in the micro sd (via AKAIO) and the sleep mode works properly for all games loaded.

    Sorry to have taken your time on this one , Another World, and thanks for your help.

    slone
     
  9. Chris_Skylock
    OP

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Just a note that Im not a good translator from local to english. Another Acekard 2i problem solve. another points to buy one.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    so what is fixing the issue is not using DMA at all? or are you using the old DMA mode with the "red" loading text?

    -another world
     
  11. Kroganwrex

    Newcomer Kroganwrex Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the exact same problem. Playing games on my acekard 2i on my dsi, it shuts down completely when the lid is closed on certain games. I tested it with 20 roms and 20 retail games and there was a 0% power off rate with the retail games and about 40% when using ak2i.
     
  12. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, if I'm not getting a MacBook I'll be getting a new DSi in the next 2 weeks, so I'll test it myself. Although I've had no problems with the DS Lite.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    please retest using the other dma mode and no-dma and let us know what fixes it.

    -another world
     
  14. slone

    Newcomer slone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    "so what is fixing the issue is not using DMA at all? or are you using the old DMA mode with the "red" loading text?

    -another world"

    I fixed the issue by holding the A button ( to disable the dma mode). The "loading" text stays blue. Though the games doesn't shut down when you close the lid, the in-game performance (loading times, framerates slowdown,etc) suffers a bit when I disable DMA. As for the old DMA mode (holding the "X"button while loading, red "loading" text), the problem still is there when I close the lid (it shuts down the dsi).

    Kroganwrex-
    "I have the exact same problem. Playing games on my acekard 2i on my dsi, it shuts down completely when the lid is closed on certain games. I tested it with 20 roms and 20 retail games and there was a 0% power off rate with the retail games and about 40% when using ak2i."

    I would suggest you hold down the "A" button on your dsi when you load a game.
    Eg, When I load Zelda: PH, I hold down the A button just before The dsi screen turns black with a blue "LOADING" message splashed on the screen, at that point I'm still holding down the A button until the game completes its loading.

    In short: NEVER release your hold on the A button during the whole game loading process.

    Thinker around with the different DMA modes to suit your needs as I am sure it is a DMA issue.

    To anyone who reads this topic and owns a Acekard 2i cart / dsi setup , can I ask if you experience this glitch? And if your Acekard 2i is a HWID 44 or a HWID 81?. I just wannna see if the card version is a factor to this problem.

    slone
     
  15. rl3n

    Newcomer rl3n Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Thank you very much! I earlier wrote that my battery caused the problem. It really seemed so, as changing it made the glitch disappear for a long time. today I reexperienced the glitch, but holding the a-button fixed it.

    btw, I'm using a dsi with acekard2i (AKAIO 1.4.1, HWID 81)
     
  16. rl3n

    Newcomer rl3n Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Thank you very much! I earlier wrote that my battery caused the problem. It really seemed so, as changing it made the glitch disappear for a long time. today I reexperienced the glitch, but holding the a-button fixed it.

    btw, I'm using a dsi with acekard2i (AKAIO 1.4.1, HWID 81)
     
  17. Kroganwrex

    Newcomer Kroganwrex Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh and just to clarify, this problem only ever occured for me when the battery was lower than half. On a full charge/when charging, this Never happens.
     

Share This Page