AKAIO 1.7 Update not working

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Fishaman P, Jul 10, 2010.

Jul 10, 2010
  1. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, this is NOT a normal case.

    First off:

    Sandisk 2GB MicroSD Card
    Acekard 2i, HWID 81, bought from DealExtreme
    Black DSi on 1.4U

    AKAIO 1.6RC2 worked fine. Things changed when I updated to AKAIO 1.7.
    In the universal menu, Cheats are turned Off. However, most ROMs and homebrew didn't work, but 1 did: Bleach The Blade of Fate (U). It had Cheats off like the rest, but it worked fine.

    Also, some games with Cheats turned on failed.

    I went back down to AKAIO 1.6RC2 for the moment, but I want to update. Help would be appreciated!

    P.S. Bleach's DS Download Play worked fine before, but after going back down to 1.6RC2, DS Download Play immediately fails (It opens a connection, then gives an error.) Help would be nice on this too!
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) make sure cheats are enabled globally and for the indivual game.

    2) make sure you haven't updated the loaders as suggested in the guide stickied in this forum.

    AKAIO 1.7 works for the rest of us, so you are doing something wrong.
     
  3. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I updated the RC2 Loaders to the 1.7 loaders along with AKAIO 1.7 because I thought they had a new encryption like they always do.
     
  4. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well that's not going to work is it.

    As i've said in my guide, the loaders for AKAIO 1.7 ONLY work on AKAIO 1.7. The Loaders for AKAIO 1.6RC2 only work on AKAIO 1.6RC2.

    You're doing something wrong. So copy off your saves and ROMs and start from fresh with a new install of AKAIO 1.7. Format the MicroSD card with the Panasonic SD formatter.

    If that still doesn't work, load up AKAIO 1.6RC2 and find out the HWID by going to the start menu => more => help.
     
  5. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    No offense, but read by first post thoroughly please.

    Also, there was a misunderstanding. I updated to 1.7, replacing all files it asked to. So I was on 1.7 with the 1.7 loaders.
     
  6. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you say it's stuck on loading, are you getting a processing error?

    And have you tried it with the cheats enabled? as i've already said, make sure cheats are enabled.
     
  7. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's stuck at "Loading", the yellow part.

    The global cheats are disabled, as I already said, but the games that had cheats individually enabled didn't work either.
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've told you. ENABLE THE CHEATS GLOBALLY. There is a known bug in AKAIO 1.7, the cheats MUST be enabled. This has been fixed in AKAIO 1.7.1.

    If it's not that, it's because you are using the wrong loaders.

    You said You updated the loaders. How did you update them and where from?
     
  9. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I'll enable the cheats globally. Sheesh.

    Also, I updated like this:

    1. Download AKAIO 1.7
    2. Un-RAR AKAIO 1.7
    3. Insert Micro SD with AKAIO 1.6RC2
    4. Highlight AKAIO 1.7's _AIO and akmenu4.nds
    5. Drag onto Micro SD Card
    6. Select "Replace All"
    7. Remove Micro SD Card
    8. Attempt to play stuff

    That still doesn't solve the mystery of the Bleach game though.
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well you see most of the people who have this issue are using the wrong loaders. This is because they are updating from the wrong website http://akaio.gbatemp.net/nloaders/ instead of http://www.akaio.net/loaders/ and it's pissing me off.

    Should also also start from a fresh install, or delete globalsettings.ini and optionlist.bin from the __aio directory before you copy the files over.

    I have 2 HWID 81 cart's from DX, and they are fine with 1.7.
     
  11. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Okay. If it helps, Bleach was the 1st game on the list.
     
  12. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Alright both of you take a breather.

    First off, @OP when someone suggests something, it doesn't hurt to try it, right?

    Second, do this exactly in the order stated.

    1) Download & extract the SD Formatter from here.

    2) Download & extract AKAIO 1.7 from here.

    3) Back up games & saves. Format the MicroSD with Full Erase ON.

    4) Copy the __aio folder & akmenu4.nds from the AKAIO 1.7 folder.

    5) Put games & saves back on.

    6) Update loaders either via WiFi or download it manually from here and place it into SD://__aio/loaders

    Report back.
     
  13. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I had everything under control. Can you help with Bleach at least? Why did it work with cheats off when everything else didn't?
     
  14. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Let's focus on the problem at hand which is not JUST getting Bleach to work; its getting all the games to work. Now you said you overwrote some of the files instead of a fresh install. Can you try my instructions for a fresh install. please?
     
  15. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just tried 1491 - Bleach - The Blade of Fate (U)(XenoPhobia) on AKAIO 1.7. With cheats enabled globally it works, with cheats disabled globally it freezes on a double white screen after 'Loading'.

    edit: I've checked again. If Soft Reset is disabled, then Cheats can be disabled or enabled. If Soft Reset is enabled, then cheats must be enabled.

    That applies to both the globalsettings, and to the settings for the indiviual games if they override those.
     
  16. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    To get this straight, I know how to get it working. I am still curious as to why Bleach worked though.
     
  17. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only logical conclusion is you had soft reset disabled for that game, in which case disabling or enabling the cheats would have both worked.

    As i've said, on mine bleach doesn't work if soft reset is enabled and cheats are disabled.
     
  18. Fishaman P
    OP

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, forgot to refresh before I posted. Didn't see you tested it.

    Mod, please close this.
     

Share This Page