Hacking AKAIO 1.3rc2 released

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smiths

AKAIO Person of Interest TAGS ARE THE BEST
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 24, 2003
Messages
1,437
Trophies
0
Location
The land of Dairy Queen
Website
www.gamergeddon.com
XP
1,716
Country
United States
CODEAK-AIO 1.3
+ AK2i support (options that could potentially harm AK2i are disabled)
+ DMA mode on AK2 (Hold A while loading a game to use non-DMA mode).
ÂÂ - DMA Soft-Reset issue fixed.
+ Added Some of Gelu's patches:
ÂÂ- Faster Directory Listing.
ÂÂ- New List mode - Internal nds names.
ÂÂ- Lots of Soft Reset Fixes for the AKRPG.
ÂÂ- new DMA mode and BBDX save fix for the AKRPG.
ÂÂ- font system (fully supports unicode now :D).
ÂÂ- New FIFO IPC System (Behind the scenes stuff).
ÂÂ- Massive amount of soft reset fixes mainly for the AKRPG.
ÂÂ- Game fixes (Brain Age 2 (K), Chrono Trigger (U/J),...).
ÂÂNOTE: because of new font system, language files now need to be utf8. Some have been converted such as English and Japanese but others will need to be saved as utf8 to work properly.
+ Added a few game related fixes (Yoshi's Island, Think Kids).
+ Japanese games now show Japanese characters in rom info window when language isnt set to Japanese
+ Files are now sorted alphabetically (Forced at the moment, sorry).
+ Loaders are now external and can be updated separately to the GUI.
+ Pokemon Diamond/Pearl/Platinum can now read saves for R/S/E/FR/LG from ewin and 3in1 (AK2 Only for now).
+ Cheat engine fixes, namely backlight codes now fully work (AK2 and AKRPG only for now).
+ Optimizations all round (Shouldn't have any lag in GUI anymore, also shouldn't experience any lag while saving).
+ Italian language added.
+ New 3in1 options window.
+ Show GBA internal name in Internal view mode.
+ 3in1 internal GBA rom header stuff and work on Save/Load prompts in 3in1 options window.
ÂÂ- Enable/Disable saving 3in1 SRAM on startup (Enabled by default)
ÂÂ- Enable/Disable prompting before saving/loading SAVSRAM (recommended!)
ÂÂ- Enable/Disable the Universal Sleep Hack for GBA games
ÂÂ- Blank NOR button added for quick erase
ÂÂ- Dump SRAM button will manually dump the SRAM to a timestamped .sav file in the root
ÂÂ- 3in1+ support (untested, but routines and discovery are in)
ÂÂ- Thanks to all donators!
+ Fixed some issues with the cheat window.
ÂÂ- Folders that only allow one cheat selected now function properly
ÂÂ- Separate icon for skinners for single-select folders (see included skins)
+ Animal Crossing cheats on AK2. (64 one line codes limit for now).
+ Official ARDS Custom ASM Hack is properly hacked to work with the AKAIO Cheat engine.
+ Unicode font loads on a per-ROM basis
ÂÂ- Default font is "kochi-mincho-subst.pcf" in /__aio/fonts directory, old unicode font removed (was 2x the size)
ÂÂ- Skinners may add their own custom font to their ui's directory
ÂÂ- New line in uisettings.ini "customUnicodeFont = xxxxxx.pcf" will load that font instead of default
+ Ability to hide extensions by manually adding "hideExtension = 1" to globalsettings.ini
+ #0434, #0442, #0479, #0879 issue fixed.
+ Misc bug fixes (Too many to list).

Quoth the Narin:
When the loading text turns red, it means that its loading the game in DMA mode which should improve performance in many games, including the slow downs and freezes in Castlevania. You can also press and hold down the A button while loading a game to boot the game in non-DMA mode which was previously used by AKAIO if for some reason, DMA mode is causing problems for you. If you do hold down A to boot in Non-DMA mode, the loading text will remain blue.


Download:
http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4510 (Updated 1/13/09)


Wiki (for AKAIO 1.2, but most applies): http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/AKAIO
AKAIO homepage: http://akaio.gbatemp.net/
AKAIO bugdar: http://akaio.gbatemp.net/bugdar/
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,698
Trophies
1
XP
7,125
Country
United States
What is DMA mode and whats the difference between DMA mode and non-DMA mode?
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,346
Country
Colombia
direct memory access - it allows for continual access to the sd card which speeds up saving issues and problem games. it basically allows the game to act more like its on a real cart and not a flash kit running from a msd.

QUOTE said:
08:04 am • DMA mode is just multiple reads in a row are handled properly
08:04 am • instead of stopping the sd after each sector
08:05 am • DMA mode simply keeps the sd going and keeps reading

-another world
 

Beware

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
1,139
Trophies
0
XP
597
Country
United States
So has the bug that prevented games being loaded from the microSD card in the AKRPG fixed now??
 

Splych

GBAtemp's Lurker
Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
2,952
Trophies
0
Location
Canada, Ontario.
Website
Visit site
XP
492
Country
AKAIO seems to be very popular around GBAtemp. I read about it, but haven't really known on how to use it...

Guide please xDD

It seems very good! I really want to know how to use it or at least where to put it.

I just want to know these things:

- What skins does it use.
- Do I need to take off the original AceKard 2 firmware
- Where do I put this firmware of the AKAIO
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,346
Country
Colombia
Echo said:
AKAIO seems to be very popular around GBAtemp. I read about it, but haven't really known on how to use it...

- What skins does it use.
- Do I need to take off the original AceKard 2 firmware
- Where do I put this firmware of the AKAIO

same skins that the official loads.
yes, delete it - format your sd with the panasonic formatter (just to be sure its up to specs) and load on akaio.
on the msd in root for the ak2/2.1/ak+ and on the nand for the r.p.g.

-aw
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,346
Country
Colombia
neither norm or smiths (as far as i heard) were able to replicate it. although norm did mention that he thinks he might have solved what could have been causing it. please try the new firmware and post your results.

-another world
 

ShAdOwFuRi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
321
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
I have tested the soft reset problem on the new firmware with various ROMS and I am proud to say that so far I have not had any problem at all =]

I would like to extend my deepest thanks to both Norm and Smiths for fixing this problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Veho should eat a cookie :P