AKAIO 1.3rc2 released

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Smiths, Jan 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jan 13, 2009

AKAIO 1.3rc2 released by Smiths at 1:42 AM (25,030 Views / 0 Likes) 115 replies

  1. Smiths
    OP

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    CODEAK-AIO 1.3
    + AK2i support (options that could potentially harm AK2i are disabled)
    + DMA mode on AK2 (Hold A while loading a game to use non-DMA mode).
    ÂÂ - DMA Soft-Reset issue fixed.
    + Added Some of Gelu's patches:
    ÂÂ- Faster Directory Listing.
    ÂÂ- New List mode - Internal nds names.
    ÂÂ- Lots of Soft Reset Fixes for the AKRPG.
    ÂÂ- new DMA mode and BBDX save fix for the AKRPG.
    ÂÂ- font system (fully supports unicode now :D).
    ÂÂ- New FIFO IPC System (Behind the scenes stuff).
    ÂÂ- Massive amount of soft reset fixes mainly for the AKRPG.
    ÂÂ- Game fixes (Brain Age 2 (K), Chrono Trigger (U/J),...).
    ÂÂNOTE: because of new font system, language files now need to be utf8. Some have been converted such as English and Japanese but others will need to be saved as utf8 to work properly.
    + Added a few game related fixes (Yoshi's Island, Think Kids).
    + Japanese games now show Japanese characters in rom info window when language isnt set to Japanese
    + Files are now sorted alphabetically (Forced at the moment, sorry).
    + Loaders are now external and can be updated separately to the GUI.
    + Pokemon Diamond/Pearl/Platinum can now read saves for R/S/E/FR/LG from ewin and 3in1 (AK2 Only for now).
    + Cheat engine fixes, namely backlight codes now fully work (AK2 and AKRPG only for now).
    + Optimizations all round (Shouldn't have any lag in GUI anymore, also shouldn't experience any lag while saving).
    + Italian language added.
    + New 3in1 options window.
    + Show GBA internal name in Internal view mode.
    + 3in1 internal GBA rom header stuff and work on Save/Load prompts in 3in1 options window.
    ÂÂ- Enable/Disable saving 3in1 SRAM on startup (Enabled by default)
    ÂÂ- Enable/Disable prompting before saving/loading SAVSRAM (recommended!)
    ÂÂ- Enable/Disable the Universal Sleep Hack for GBA games
    ÂÂ- Blank NOR button added for quick erase
    ÂÂ- Dump SRAM button will manually dump the SRAM to a timestamped .sav file in the root
    ÂÂ- 3in1+ support (untested, but routines and discovery are in)
    ÂÂ- Thanks to all donators!
    + Fixed some issues with the cheat window.
    ÂÂ- Folders that only allow one cheat selected now function properly
    ÂÂ- Separate icon for skinners for single-select folders (see included skins)
    + Animal Crossing cheats on AK2. (64 one line codes limit for now).
    + Official ARDS Custom ASM Hack is properly hacked to work with the AKAIO Cheat engine.
    + Unicode font loads on a per-ROM basis
    ÂÂ- Default font is "kochi-mincho-subst.pcf" in /__aio/fonts directory, old unicode font removed (was 2x the size)
    ÂÂ- Skinners may add their own custom font to their ui's directory
    ÂÂ- New line in uisettings.ini "customUnicodeFont = xxxxxx.pcf" will load that font instead of default
    + Ability to hide extensions by manually adding "hideExtension = 1" to globalsettings.ini
    + #0434, #0442, #0479, #0879 issue fixed.
    + Misc bug fixes (Too many to list).

    Quoth the Narin:
    When the loading text turns red, it means that its loading the game in DMA mode which should improve performance in many games, including the slow downs and freezes in Castlevania. You can also press and hold down the A button while loading a game to boot the game in non-DMA mode which was previously used by AKAIO if for some reason, DMA mode is causing problems for you. If you do hold down A to boot in Non-DMA mode, the loading text will remain blue.


    Download:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4510 (Updated 1/13/09)


    Wiki (for AKAIO 1.2, but most applies): http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/AKAIO
    AKAIO homepage: http://akaio.gbatemp.net/
    AKAIO bugdar: http://akaio.gbatemp.net/bugdar/
     


  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    could we have a mod please unstick v1.3rc1 and close it, and then stickie this one?

    cheers,
    -another world
     
  3. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    What is DMA mode and whats the difference between DMA mode and non-DMA mode?
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    direct memory access - it allows for continual access to the sd card which speeds up saving issues and problem games. it basically allows the game to act more like its on a real cart and not a flash kit running from a msd.

    -another world
     
  5. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    So with non-DMA the wii connectivity will work?
     
  6. Smiths
    OP

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    huh?
    those aren't related... at all.
    non-DMA mode makes my oven get to 350 degrees about 10 minutes faster.
     
  7. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks for confirmation when will wii connectivity be fixed?
     
  8. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    So has the bug that prevented games being loaded from the microSD card in the AKRPG fixed now??
     
  9. Smiths
    OP

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    Beware - that was fixed in rc1
     
  10. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    AKAIO seems to be very popular around GBAtemp. I read about it, but haven't really known on how to use it...

    Guide please xDD

    It seems very good! I really want to know how to use it or at least where to put it.

    I just want to know these things:

    - What skins does it use.
    - Do I need to take off the original AceKard 2 firmware
    - Where do I put this firmware of the AKAIO
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    never heard of that bug, do you mean from the NAND? yes - that was fixed many revisions ago around the time the loaders became external.

    -another world
     
  12. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    is this referring to my question about wii connectivity?
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    same skins that the official loads.
    yes, delete it - format your sd with the panasonic formatter (just to be sure its up to specs) and load on akaio.
    on the msd in root for the ak2/2.1/ak+ and on the nand for the r.p.g.

    -aw
     
  14. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    /join #acekard on the GBATemp IRC network

    whats the server address?
     
  15. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    was there really a need to PM me that question AND post it here?

    irc.gbatemp.net :5190

    -another world
     
  16. deethebee

    Member deethebee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    oregonazm!
    Country:
    United States
  17. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    Has the soft reset sound distortion bug been fixed?
     
  18. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    neither norm or smiths (as far as i heard) were able to replicate it. although norm did mention that he thinks he might have solved what could have been causing it. please try the new firmware and post your results.

    -another world
     
  19. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    I have tested the soft reset problem on the new firmware with various ROMS and I am proud to say that so far I have not had any problem at all =]

    I would like to extend my deepest thanks to both Norm and Smiths for fixing this problem.
     
  20. KillerKlown

    Newcomer KillerKlown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Texass
    Country:
    United States
    Good Job Guys!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page