AK2i -- What to download?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Rabbits_Galore, Feb 5, 2009.

Feb 5, 2009
  1. Rabbits_Galore
    OP

    Newcomer Rabbits_Galore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Canada, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm really sorry if I'm not supposed to be posting here, or if there's already a topic.

    I just recently got my Acekart 2i. I gotta admit I was completely random in my choice of Acekarts, and just bought the AK2i because I could. I've briefly looked around GBAtemp, and um, I've found lots of firmware, but I'm still not sure. I've found lots of subjects on the AKAIO, but according to the official AK website, I can't use that on the AK2i.

    So what firmware should I be downloading? What is a homebrew? basically, I just need ALL the information I can get. how do I put games in it, should I be making files to make it do a specific action? [After downloading StepMania, I've concluded that I suck at this kind of thing] Do I need ot have save files, or is it automatic..?

    etc etc.

    Thanks for taking your time, and if there is already a guide for this, erm... don't kill me please? DX;;
     
  2. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    Use this FW http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4593 it's the latest AKAIO 1.3 Final.

    Thread http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=130921

    As it says in the thread AKAIO is safe to use now on the AK2i.

    To use games on the AK you need to download NDS ROMS.Saves are done automatically so no worries there,and homebrew is a game/app made by people.

    To use the Firmware place __aio and akmenu4.nds on the ROOT of your MicroSD.Make a Games folder if you'd like to make it more tidy.Place your ROMS in the Games folder and you can start playing right away.
     
  3. Rabbits_Galore
    OP

    Newcomer Rabbits_Galore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Canada, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    ahh, thank you!

    I just downloaded it, and I unzipped it. there's like a million files in tehre, do I just place them ALL in the root of my microSD?
     
  4. BakuFunn

    Member BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    No, place the folder in the root.
     
  5. unknownworlder

    Member unknownworlder GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    Is it in _aio? or is it all in one folder.

    But yes, put it all in the root.
     
  6. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    There should be 3 files in there the __aio folder,akmenu4.nds,and a readme_AKAIO.txt.

    Place the __aio folder(the whole folder) on the root and akmenu4.nds.
     
  7. Rabbits_Galore
    OP

    Newcomer Rabbits_Galore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Canada, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    It's really weird because I use Bitzipper to unzip, and I got 187 files.

    It must've opened the files withing the files and so on..?
     
  8. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    Try winrar it's better.
     
  9. Rabbits_Galore
    OP

    Newcomer Rabbits_Galore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Canada, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    okay, thanks =D

    I just downloaded it and tried again. I see 4 files, two of which are folders. So I just place those folders in the ROOT of the microSD?
     
  10. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    The only folder that should be in there is the __aio folder.Place the __aio folder and akmenu4.nds on the ROOT of the MicroSD.
     
  11. Rabbits_Galore
    OP

    Newcomer Rabbits_Galore Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Canada, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    okay thanks. the other folder... which is marked '....' only leads me to my files on desktop. So I'm guessing that's probably not part of anything.

    Thank you so much. =D
     

Share This Page