Ak2 Technical Difficulties

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by PanzerWF, Sep 2, 2008.

Sep 2, 2008

Ak2 Technical Difficulties by PanzerWF at 10:40 PM (1,298 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. PanzerWF
    OP

    Member PanzerWF GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, just got my AK2 in the mail and I'm already having troubles.

    My computer can find the microSD reader, but I can't access the microSD. I can see Removable Disk, but I get a "Please insert a disk into Drive" error message. I tried to format it, but it gives me "There is no disk in Drive I" message.

    Now, I think I might have gotten a faulty microSD, but it could be the card reader's problem. Either way, I get the short end of the stick and now require help... please?
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    That sounds like a) a faulty microSD/microSDHC or b) a faulty microSD reader.

    Do you have any other microSDs to try the microSD reader with? Or do you have another microSD reader to try the microSD in?
     
  3. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
    probobly the reader, same thing happened when I got my m3dssimply, the reader malfuctioned shortly, I just got another one for $10
     
  4. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Try to format the SD in a cell phone or Digital camera if you can.

    I've heard tell of that working when windows wont recognize yer SD.
     
  5. kai445

    Member kai445 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same thing when I first used the but then realized I thought I pushed the MicroSD in, but I didn't push it in far enough (I was afraid to break it). Make sure the card is in proper, and pushed fully into the reader.
     
  6. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't rely on those card readers that are included with the ak2.

    They are known to not be reliable.
     
  7. PanzerWF
    OP

    Member PanzerWF GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Canada
    Yay, it worked.

    And apparently, there were some files on my brand new, just shipped from DX, Kingston microSD. WTF!?!?

    Oh well, I formatted it, and it seems to work fine now. So for now I'm good.
     
  8. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Awesome, I'm glad you were able to fix it....

    though, it is kinda scary that there was already files on your new SD. [​IMG]
     
  9. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    still think my dx 1gb 'jap kingston' is a fake, doesn't seem to be much faster than a standard crappy 2gb sandisk.
    sounds like a reader problem i guess but good you got card working now.
    any speed tests on cf_bench or so?
     
  10. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    That happened to me like 1-2 times but just push the MicroSD in a bit more but not to the extent where it'll break. That might be the problem.
     

Share This Page