Acekard2i With DSi LL

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by djbboy, Dec 8, 2009.

Dec 8, 2009

Acekard2i With DSi LL by djbboy at 12:31 AM (2,894 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys just abit of help if i could get it. I recently just got a DSi LL japanese edition. Now i looked before i bought it about the support with flashcarts and so on and saw it was more than fine.

    Now my issue is that the device is 1.4j, i cant read anything of the menus. Which is not a big deal as i thought putting in the cart would just show up and then i can run from there. But with the card, and micro sd card in, the option to go into the card doesnt show at all. What could be causing this ? Would it be that it needs to be flashed to be able to run on that firmware. I didnt think it would mainly cause it doesnt even show up in the menu.

    If anyone can try and put me on the right track that would be great. Just wanna make sure the thing works before handing it over as a present.

    Thanks.



    DJBBOY
     


  2. Beige

    Member Beige GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Volcano Bakemeat
    Country:
    United States
    So wait, it's not even showing up? Have you tried the paper trick?
     
  3. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    not showing up at all. And no im not quite sure what the paper trick is ?



    DJBBOY
     
  4. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    ok looked into the paper trick, tried it, no luck. I think maybe the card is a dud. If there anything else that can be done ? The device is brand spanking new.



    DJBBOY
     
  5. themedster327

    Newcomer themedster327 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Did you get it from DealXtreme, because i bought a acekard2i and it was a dud, i emailed dealextreme, they gave me a new one, and it worked...if not, ask your dealer for a new one
     
  6. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i think im going with the fact its a dud. It was from a different company not dealextreme, came with the DSi LL as a package. Gonna see if i can find another card to test before i complain to them



    DJBBOY
     
  7. rikuumi

    Member rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    If I buy new DSi and it comes with 1.4 firmware do I need to "update" my AK2i with old ds?
     
  8. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Depends is your ak2i already updated or not. Yes you need to update it if it isn't. You won't be able to tell unless you put it on a dsi btw.
     
  9. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    I know this may sound like a silly question but in the meantime(Til I get my DSi) can I use the AceKard 2i on my DS Lite(I already have an acekard in there but I want to test out my 2i and make sure that it works) or does the AceKard 2i only work with the DSi..I dont want my DS Lite to brick
     
  10. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    All DSi compatible carts work on all ds systems.
     
  11. rikuumi

    Member rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    how your DS lite can brick if you try Acekard on DSi?
     
  12. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked mine, works great!! Just wanted to make sure it was not a dud. Now, I gotta figure out if its worth waiting for the new DSI LL or just getting the DSi..since you have one, the screen size difference between the DS Lite and the DSi, do you notice the difference at all, how much bigger of a screen is the DSi? Thanks
     
  13. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    As I told you in the other topic I don't have but my cousin does. [​IMG] I have a ds phat for that matter and again yes I do notice the difference and the screen is bigger by 0.25 inches or whatever but you get the effect that once you go bigger its kind of hard to go back to the smaller.
     
  14. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info. I guess in the meantime I Can use the DSi and when the new one comes out I can trade it in for the new one. Thanks for the info. Online the DS Lite and the DSi look the same, but I guess in person the 0.25 does make a difference
     
  15. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    i thought maybe the card was not updated, so i tried it in a normal DSi, and it still didnt show up. I guess thats a pretty clear indication that its a dud right ?

    The supplier said to me that i didnt set it up right, and its not faulty. The process to setup is download the files, put in the root folder and it should work after that right ??




    DJBBOY
     
  16. Todderbert

    Member Todderbert GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    United States
    Test it in a DS lite or Phat. Sounds like you may have to upgrade the bootstrap.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=174...p;#entry2194100
     
  17. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    ok so the acekard will not even show up in old DS Lite, thats gotta mean the card is a dud right ?


    DJBBOY
     
  18. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    yep -- it should show up

    have you cleaned the contacts?
     
  19. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i did, used a bit of metho and a microfiber cloth, didnt make a difference.

    The company still assures me its not faulty, i think i need to invest in a new one to prove it to them. Pathetic service.


    DJBBOY
     
  20. djbboy
    OP

    Newcomer djbboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    gonna try and buy a new one and then head to where they supply the one i got thats broken and throw it at them and demand money back..


    DSi LL is awesome though, huge screens make for alot of fun. The device is not region coded to Japan as mentioned in other places. Works fine with normal carts. Downside is Jap stock menu's. But no big deal.


    Was there ever a patch or anything for language changing on a DSi/Phat ??



    DJBBOY
     

Share This Page