Acekard With DSiXL

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Kalisiin, Oct 28, 2011.

Oct 28, 2011

Acekard With DSiXL by Kalisiin at 6:28 PM (864 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    OK, question.
    I have Acekards set up, 2 of them....one which used to work on the DSi before the first firmware update to 1.4

    One, I upgraded to work with Version 1.4

    Now, I would like to buy a DSi XL.

    Would the Acekard that worked in the 1.4 DSi work in a DSiXL?

    Do I need to upgrade (please say no, I hate doing that stuff!!)

    If I DO have to upgrade, can you please tell me EXACTLY...step-by-step...how to update these cards to work for the DSiXL....and preferably without that stupid paper trick. I want it to work straight up or forget it.

    I really hate doing upgrades, I am terrified to lose my save daya, especially for DQ IX...I have over 1,100 hours on that game!!

    I did a full backup of the Acekard to my PC.

    Another option: Does anyone reliable sell an Acekard READY-TO-GO with the DSiXL...that you can just drag and drop your exiting roms and save files over to the new card?

    THIS would actually be the ideal solution in my case, because I REALLY hate messing with things once they work.

    I am also thinking I should not muck around with the original microSD crad and just get another micro SD card...because the Acekard itself....nothing goes to it...so if I muck up on a different SD card, no loss, I just pop my original SD card back into the Acekard and still good to go on DS Lite.

    Please help me out here.

    Another Idea -
    The IDEAL solution for me would be if anyone sells a READY-TO-GO Acekard that is ready to go for the DSiXL...and I would just have to drag and drop my rom and save files over from the old card. Does anyone know if someone sells a READY-TO-GO Acekard for the DSiXL?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Your save data is on your MicroSD, not the Acekard itself, so even if the Acekard fails you can just pop your MicroSD into another cart...
     
  3. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Buying it new doesn't guarantee that it's updated, actually. Though NJ-based RealHotStuff.com does flash them before shipping and you'd probably get it pretty fast even with free shipping from NJ to PA

    Yes, you could just perform the update with a different MicroSD (it will also need AKAIO installed to run the update file) if you're afraid of losing your saves.
     
  4. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for replies. Found a reseller here thru Shop Temp that does ship the Acekard pre-flashed to work with DSiXL ver 1.4.3 and anything lower. I then need to download the menu file from their site.

    This should not be difficult.
    I think I'll just get a new couple Acekards and SD cards...get those set up right for XL...then drag and drop all my roms and save files over to the new cards...that way if anything messes up I still have the stuff on the old ones.

    I just want to get an XL for the extra screen real estate.
    I have zero interest, personally in the 3DS. I'm very old-school, really...but that doesn't mean I don't like extra screen real estate!
     
  5. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I totally prefer my DSi XL for DSiWare & DS games though I love my 3DS -- I use 3DS only for 3DS exclusive content because it doesn't replace the XL's quality for DS/DSi content in any way, shape, or form.
    Especially for DSiWare, I cant stand playing it on my 3DS and regret porting half my titles off my XL to my 3DS :(

    But sometimes the weight of the XL bothers me and I use a DS Lite instead when I recline.
     
  6. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I'll be keeping my DSLites as well, and using both. The thing is, with the Acekard that works with the XL...it will also work with a DSLite...as it would then work with Ver1.4.3 and all lower.

    I have four DS Lites, currently, two still in their original box...the main reason I have them is just in case I need them for flashing purposes. I wanted to be sure I always had a working model so I could flash if I needed to. Currently, I charge one unit while playing with the other...then, when the battery dies, I trade them out, play with the one while the other is charging....so the OTHER two just never even have been used.
     

Share This Page