Acekard 2i running on Nintendo 3DS

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Costello, Feb 28, 2011.

Feb 28, 2011
  1. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030

    I just received word from the Acekard Team that they have successfully been able to update their Acekard 2i flashcart to run on the Nintendo 3DS. However, they are not willing to release the update immediately, for the reasons below


     


  2. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    LOOK GAIZ COSTELLO IS OVER 9000! [​IMG]
     
  3. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States


    Exactly what I want to hear. That way I can still play DS games before I can buy more 3DS games.
     
  4. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,589
    Country:
    United States
    Now I'm sure what the ds two is doing, waiting for U.S ones to come out . [​IMG]
     
  5. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    Damn I think it'll be block then when I get it in the summer...
     
  6. yeop

    Member yeop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    I hope it´s like that, I´d like to use my DSTWO when I buy my 3DS.
     
  7. Costello
    OP

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    if other teams can do it, I see no reason why the SC team couldn't [​IMG]
    so I wouldnt worry about it
     
  8. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
  9. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard sent me an email saying that they're sure other teams will be able to do it as well. SC2 will be fine.
     
  10. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,589
    Country:
    United States
    I'm kinda surprise that they would say other carts should work. [​IMG]
     
  11. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    I don't know. For now, it's just a rumor that CPU cards might have another problem.

    I'd be nice if Team Supercard would say something about their progress, then nobody would care about any rumors.
     
  12. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,300
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    good to hear that the ak2i works too bad mine is bricked tried updating the patch for new games config and while it was downloading it it stopped and froze then i turned off my dsi and tried going back into it and it is still frozen cant use the thing at all

    hopefully SC team will have an update to use it on the 3DS also i hope they found a way to use DSi mode wish they would be more informative of what they are doing with their products, they are just like apple and so secretive about everything
     
  13. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Very smart camera angles on this vid. They hid the header info they're using, so Nintendo can't block it before it's even out.
     
  14. pocchama1996

    Member pocchama1996 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
  15. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Small mistake [​IMG]
     
  16. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Huraay! [​IMG] [​IMG] Hope they don't fix it when they get released in Europe.
     
  17. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Why don't flash cart teams use high-profile games for their header info?

    What's Nintendo gonna do if AceKards look like Pokemon Black?
    (Btw, does anyone know what happens if you play a legit copy of a game that Nintendo's already blocked like Danny Phantom Urban Jungle?)
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's another excuse for Nintendo to sue them.

    So they don't use Nintendo's IP.
     
  19. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Fine then.

    Load up my AK2i and see Sonic Rush or Phoenix Wright or something, idk.

    If my theory is right (it probably isn't), Nintendo wouldn't be able to do much since blocking a flashcart using that header would involve blocking a high-profile game, which would end in nerdrage, more than anything else.
     
  20. dark ajax

    Member dark ajax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Chihuahua (Not a Dog!!!)
    Country:
    Mexico
    Great, I'm glad I just got my acekard last week! looking forward to keep on using it for a long time when the 3DS comes in and to get one of course!
    P.S. I really need a new DS, I've had mine for like 6 years, and I'm actually surprised it still works because i haven't been the most careful owner with it...
     

Share This Page