Acekard 2i - Any good?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by ACaed, Apr 24, 2009.

Apr 24, 2009

Acekard 2i - Any good? by ACaed at 6:00 PM (1,838 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. ACaed
    OP

    Member ACaed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United States
    I'm considering getting myself a DSi, but I have to ask--is the Acekard 2i the best DSi card out there? Is something better (like a DSi-compatible CycloEvolution) coming out soon? Should I wait? Should I buy?

    It's all so confusing!

    Help me choose!

    -AC
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can only speak from experience but I'm sure someone will contidict me

    I brought an Acekard 2i & had nothing but trouble with it freezing on the DSLite Health screen
    It also 'modified' a game save in such a way that a particular cheat editor couldn't read it, AND it couldn't be converted by Shuny web page - Shuny himself couldn't understand the format

    So I brought a DSTTi (which is genuine) - & I've had no problems at all with it - It's worked with virtually every Game ROM I've tried & Homebrew without 'patching' (mind you I was using YSMenu & not the DSTTi own firmware), except for DSision2 (A Homebrew File Launcher) which seem not to like SDHC cards

    I understand that there is also the EZVi currently out & sometime during May(ish) another couple of Flash cards are also coming out - how good these are compared to what I've had, I've got no idea
     
  3. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Haven't had mine for very long (two days [​IMG]) but it worked fine for me last night. I played Trace Memory, saved/loaded a game, and turned the DSi off and on to make sure the save file stayed and everything was working fine.

    I turned it back on today and it froze after the title screen of TM and then when I rebooted my DSi and played again, it deleted my save file.

    First impressions, not so good.
     
  4. Kaoz360

    Newcomer Kaoz360 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm Here to contradict you kermitfrog.

    I've Had no problems with my acecard2i except i needed to update my loader so that i could play my roms using AKAIO firmware.

    All my roms play fine with no lag or freezing but as you should know everybody has a different expierence with there flashcart including the acekard2i but i would recommend it.
     
  5. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've not had any problems with it so far. No freezing or anything. WiFi works fine and everything...Great. I would recommend it...But I don't know about other carts.
     
  6. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    I would definitely recommend the ak2i to anyone with a dsi. it works great for me and althoguh I don't own one from what ive heard the dstt is not as good of a card the the ak2
     
  7. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Let me fix that [​IMG]

    I would definitely recommend the AK2i to anyone who has a DSi, it works great for me. Although I don't own one, the DSTTi isn't as good as the AK2i, from what I've heard anyway.

    Before it sounded like you didn't have the AK2i, and it was rather confusing to read. Remember, grammar matters.
     
  8. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    yeah grammer is one of my weak points I thought somethin sounded wrong but wasn't sure how to fix it thanks
     
  9. akash86

    Newcomer akash86 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    LA, California
    Country:
    United States
    funny, shatteredscreens is in canada, yet PWNS u at english grammar, bcuz ur in the USA, funny yet interesting...not to bee mean or anything
     
  10. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, that was mean. And, people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. Read above quote and laugh at yourself.

    Also, he was just trying to be helpful, unlike your comment.
     
  11. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    shatteredscreens is uk not canada so of course he would be better at english than me
     
  12. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Better at being english...bahaahahaha.

    I fail.
     
  13. ACaed
    OP

    Member ACaed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I have another question: Will all my old homebrew apps from my DSLite work on the Acekard 2i? I loves me some JEnesis and DScent, not to mention my NES and SNES emulators...

    I guess I'm just worried that the DSi's faster clock speed will mess everything up.
     
  14. ryohki

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    I picked up my ak2i just before the dsi was released, and have had no issues with it, having upgraded from an r4, which was really starting to annoy me, I have nothing but good things to say about the ak2i
     
  15. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'm Enlish not Canadian [​IMG]

    DSi's fasted processor and added RAM arent used in normal DS mode, which is what the flashcards can only use at this time.
     
  16. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I did have problems with Pokémon Platinum, just that it lags a little bit...but actually, the Acekard 2i is pretty good, you get what you paid for and I only paid £13.
    All other games and homebrew work just fine for me, and the AKAIO firmware is quite nice, if not confusing.
    I should just be able to put the firmware straight on my card without having to mess around with file systems, not an issue with the R4 or CycloDS nearly as much.

    And that's just my thoughts on it so far. Would I recommend it for a DSi user? Absolutely. Would I recommend it for a DS Lite user? Well, Cyclo DS is in my opinion better.
     

Share This Page