Acekard 2 EZ Flash 3in1 GBA direct loading HELP needed!

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Misterboy, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. Misterboy
    OP

    Newcomer Misterboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    :Edited after more experimenting:

    Hi all,

    I'm having a problem with my new Acekard 2 and EZ Flash 3 in 1 setup.

    Essentially, my DS hangs when trying to load the *.sav file when using my ROM backups in PRAM memory mode. I can load a game from the AceKard 2's latest firmware (4.08) and the game runs fine. However, once I shut down my DS and try to load that same game, the system hangs when loading the save file. Basically it gets stuck with the "Loading GBA save..." progress bar filled.

    I have tried using GBA Exploader to load the ROMs via PRAM. The ROM will load and play fine. However, when I try to load it a second time (after a DS reset), and I select the correct SAV file, the ROM loads, but the game(s) tell me my sav file is corrupt.

    SO, I've got a save game reading or writing problem. I have no idea how to proceed. I've seen forum entries regarding default savegame types...so maybe that's it? Or maybe my 3in1 is bad. Or maybe my Acekard 2 is bad?

    Please, if anyone has any insight or ideas, let me know. I am at a loss and am not sure what to do. I have spent many hours scouring forums to no avail.

    Much thanks!
     
  2. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    give AKAIO 1.2 a go, it is better firmware than the official.

    -another world
     
  3. Misterboy
    OP

    Newcomer Misterboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried AKAIO. I reformatted and put it on to see if my problem was firmware related.

    I had the same problems.

    Once I get this problem sorted out though, I'll probably go with AKAIO.
     
  4. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    I had similar problems with my 3in1 before I killed it. From searching it seemed to be a "battery" thing.
    I've tried acquiring old-school 3in1 (phat DS models) but have had no luck. So I can no longer test anything.
     
  5. TotoGuy

    Newcomer TotoGuy Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Israel

    This helps? [​IMG]
     
  6. Misterboy
    OP

    Newcomer Misterboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, thanks for the responses.

    @Smiths, what do you mean you killed it. You mean gave up on it, threw it out?

    Also, I should add that I am suspecting the 3in1 more and more. I tried doing a round of testing just using the NOR, that way I could eliminate the Acekard2.1 and my SD card.

    If I load a ROM into NOR, it runs fine. I can boot it from the DS home screen as if it's a GBA cart, etc. However, games act as if there is no save file. Each time I load the game up, it's as if I was loading it for the first time.

    EXCEPT, last night I got it working with no problems. I started a game, saved it, shut down the DS, fired it back up and loaded the game and the save seemed to work. I tried this again, and it continued to work. I was beginning to think that all was well. Well, lo and behold, without changing a thing, a third attempt showed that the save wasn't there. So it's buggy to say the least and this is almost certainly a 3in1 problem as once that rom is in NOR the Acekard and SD aren't in the picture.

    Strangely, the save was there *sometimes*. So I think either my battery is dying, or has a poor connection. Or the SRAM where saves are kept is corrupt or has a bad connection.

    I've contacted my retailer and will be sending the 3in1 back for a replacement. Fingers crossed. I'm glad I dealt with DealExtreme. They are offering to refund all shipping costs.
     
  7. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    Same problems on my side
    and by killed it I mean it was torn from the PCB. I tried mounting the 3in1 (slim) into a GBA cartridge and it wasn't staying put nicely... and then i just kinda... tore it up
     
  8. Misterboy
    OP

    Newcomer Misterboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, I'm thinking (hoping) it's just the 3in1 causing me problems.

    Bad luck getting a new one with problems I guess. It wouldn't really be a big deal only it has taken so many hours to learn what *could* be going wrong. The support for these devices is pretty terrible.

    So fingers crossed a new one solves my problems.
     

Share This Page