accidental update...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiFSA, May 1, 2009.

May 1, 2009

accidental update... by WiiFSA at 2:33 AM (1,012 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so my little nephew decided to play my Wii, and instead of using the Backup Channel, [​IMG]
    he used the disk channel and updated using brawl disk, when I saw, I panicked and turned off the Wii.
     
  2. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Brawl has the 3.1 update, actually. But did you turn off your wii while it was in the middle of updating? That's a bad idea.

    You are aware that Starfall can block disc updates really easily, right?
     
  3. thevilman

    Newcomer thevilman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Brazil
    dude
    first of all run starfall and make it skip all discs updates and you will be fine, it's mandatory to have it installed
    secondly, since you said you still on 3.2 firmware I don't see a big deal
    so chill out
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I don't think it bricked. Or did I even think about it updating your firmware. Brawl updates to like, 3.1? So possibly it was installing necessary IOS or such.

    Bottom line: Stop being paranoid and do a chicken dance because your Wii is OK

    EDIT: Plus, install Preloader (Much better than starfall) and get the hacks.ini for 3.2(E/U) and enable skip disc update check
     
  5. Louiethe0ne

    Newcomer Louiethe0ne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    all it probably did was install some IOSs

    install preloader to block disk updates

    Edit: afif beat me
     
  6. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I know it was a bad idea, but Brawl doesn't ask to update anymore, and everything seems to be fine.
    Ok thx for your help, I will install preloader.(if i can figureout how
     
  7. Louiethe0ne

    Newcomer Louiethe0ne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    here

    just copy the E or U codes into notepad and save as hacks.ini
     
  8. mikezila

    Newcomer mikezila Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    If you were on firmware >3.1 then the most it could have been installing is new versions of the photo/news/weather channel or some IOSs that your Wii didn't have already.

    The only thing that could have caused a problem is you pulling out the power while it was updating things, and even then the most would be a fubar photo/news/weather channel.
     
  9. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    And what do I do with that? ._.
    any link to a preloader tutorial for noobs like me??
    thx for the help
     
  10. keyra

    Member keyra Spoderman self proclamed fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Country:
    France
    why would you use preloader or anything so ?
    if you have cios and hbc installed you could even update to 4.0 ....
     
  11. WiiFSA
    OP

    Newcomer WiiFSA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    cioscorp? yea I dont even have that... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page