About the 3DS roms dumpted out by LGC

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by tranfeer, Jun 6, 2011.

Jun 6, 2011
  1. tranfeer
    OP

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    There are several 3DS roms with the extention of *.3DS.
    These roms are said to be dumpted out by LGC.

    We have a look with hex editor.
    We do find "CTR" & "Nintendo" strings in these roms.
    But we find no arm or thumb instructions in these roms.

    As we know, Nintendo 3DS is using arm based CPU just the same as that of NDSi & NDSL.

    There should be ARM and thumb instructions in these roms.


    Besides, have LGC run these roms successfully?
    How do they run these games? With emulators ?

    Have they released a video?

    The most interesting thing is that the picture attached with these roms showed they had dumped out 3DS rom with a NDSL.

    How do you think of it?
     


  2. Spidey_BR

    Member Spidey_BR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    Brazil
    Maybe it's decrypted in real time before being executed by the arm cores?
     
  3. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    256MB... that's kinda small.

    I expected about 768MB
     
  4. tranfeer
    OP

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    How does LGC run these ROMS? By emulators?
    The emulator decrypt these roms in real time?

    It sounds impossible.
     
  5. Shiro09

    Member Shiro09 AAI2 Localisation Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont think there is a way to run them yet but the .3DS games might come differently packed than other ds games.
     
  6. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I thought it would be pretty big, too (something similar to a psp ISO).
     
  7. deathking

    Member deathking GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    legacy has said they worked on their hardware so they must have a means to run them
     
  8. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    Legacy runs a special hardware connected to the 3Ds to play them and also rom them
     
  9. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    they have claimed in their NFO that they can play them

    so take it as it is

    i doubt it's bogus, just time for other teams to pickup

    i doubt scene release groups release videos about this matter anyway.
     
  10. Shiro09

    Member Shiro09 AAI2 Localisation Team

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    764
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow, thats pretty amazing. The 3DS might have a flashcart sooner than expected.
     
  11. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    dont know. after all, legacy did say on their nfo that flashcart makers should figure out on their own
     
  12. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    We had rumours, now we have news and now we need proof.
     
  13. tranfeer
    OP

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria

    There is no video to proove.
    Do you still remeber "Hello world" released by someone here?

    If these roms have run successfully, "hello world" may be a genuine one.
     
  14. popoffka

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    Actually, the ROMs have already been dumped before the LGC, they just weren't released to the public. Proof is the 'CXI' page in 3dbrew and the discussion for that page.
    Also, the ROMs are encrypted, so it isn't really unexpected that they don't contain ARM instructions.
     
  15. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,927
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ppl should know Legacy is a well know scene group and i don't think the will ruin there name with some crappy not legit
    rom dumps. Most old skool scene followers should know that if Legacy says the can, then the can, no video proof needed for that.
    First dumps of NDS by DarkFader was also questioned, but turned out to be true

    And i think it should be wise by Legacy not to reveal to many info about how on this whole matter, it's just to early for now to release
    this all. Ppl should give a console time to get mainstream and get descent releases and support before doing the whole
    dumping thing for backup purpose (we all know how that tuns out for ages) every retro console hacked was for backup purpose and turned out to be for piracy.

    Maybe copiers/backup devices and devices to run those backups should be back way more expensive, like it used to be for all those retro consoles Neo-Geo/SNES/MD/NES/GG/SMS/PC-E/GB/GBC/N64 and early GBA so it doesn't get to mainstream anymore.
     
  16. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Tom Clancys Ghost Recon Shadow Wars (EUR) *MULTi5* (LGC) - 0001 - 220 MB rar'd
    Super Monkey Ball 3D 3DS (EUR) *MULTi5* (LGC) - 0002 - 222 MB rar'd
    3DS Lego StarWars III 3DS (EUR) *MULTi5* (LGC) - 0003 - 470 MB rar'd

    these the ones i got

    Lego Star wars NFO
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  17. Jimmy1994

    Newcomer Jimmy1994 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    To play these roms we need a new flashcard or an update to the current ones?
     
  18. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    No, you need a new flashcart altogether. Sadly, updating the current ones to play 3DS rom is not possible. You need new hardware to play 3DS roms.
     
  19. Gullwing

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Definately a new one that can run on 3DS mode. Greece ftw!
     
  20. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    why new one

    just needs to have a flashable bootloader

    3DS games load in the same way

    may be only able to load one 3DS game at a time tho
     

Share This Page