1. moparisthebest

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    It works on at least 3.2U too, so maybe 2.X also.
     
  2. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    What would be the reasons for why this wouldn't work? Like I changed my DNS settings but I still see the real EULA. Ultimately I'm trying to use the DNS over at wii.guide so I can connect to Wiimmfi without hacking the Wii. The only reason why it wouldn't work over there was that the router may not be compatible with the exploit. I'm pretty computer savvy so if you h ave any ideas on things I can try in my router to get this to work I will give it a shot. Thanks.
     
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,611
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried changing the DNS at the router level instead of or in addition to the DNS wii settings?

    Are you able to try from a different wifi access point enabled by a different ISP? I wonder if perhaps your ISP is doing something funny. Or if you have a VPN router that may bypass whatever funny business your ISP is doing (if anything)
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  4. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the late reply. I turned my phone into a wifi hotspot and connected my Wii to it with the DNS settings changed in the Wii and it worked.

    I found the DNS settings in my router and changed those there and in my Wii and it didn't work. I am currently living in a hotel and am connecting to their internet so I'm guessing my connection must be going to another router (that I don't have access too) and is forcing the default DNS addresses. No big deal though. Just been tinkering with stuff and seeing if there was a way to fix it.
     
    alexander1970 and XFlak like this.
  5. Obamaprism1

    Obamaprism1 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    When I enter the dns in my Wii it adds 0 before the double digit numbers
     
  6. Obamaprism1

    Obamaprism1 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    When I enter the dns it adds zeros before the double digit numbers
     
  7. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    That's fine. It means the same thing.
     
  8. HomebrewMusicAddict

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great! I've already Homebrewed my Wii using this method! Just a question though, is it possible to set up a str2hax custom EULA on mobile? If so, how? I want to set up a (personal) str2hax EULA for HBB, dunno if it will work, (I would have to create an installer, tekencal can do that, plus turning that into a payload.) I don't have any SD Cards, so I can't install it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    *Normally
     
  9. Mikke18

    Mikke18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    okay so im a noob at this
    I want to try to play Mario Kart online.
    can anyone explain how to do it via str2hax? i can download the bootmii as a boot2 and the Homebrew thing. i have heard that you need some Wiimmfi thing but i dont know how to do this. can anyone take this step for step to help me plz

    edit: if you can help me via discord even better (but im european so we need to figure out timezone?)
     
    Last edited by Mikke18, Oct 6, 2020
  10. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    If you already Homebrewed your Wii then what do you need str2hax for? You say you don't have any SD card but you can install homebrew on a USB drive as well. I'll need some more information from you to figure out exactly what you are trying to accomplish. I don't know anything about str2hax but maybe I can help you reach your goals in some other way.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    All you need to do to play Mario Kart online is patch the game to connect to the Wiimmfi Servers. You can do that by either copying the game to a USB drive, patching it to connect to Wiimmfi and then load it using a loader like USB Loader GX. The other way is to use the automatic disc patcher where you run the disc patcher from the HomeBrew Channel with the game in the Wii and it will automatically patch it for you. Some sites to check out for more information are:

    https://wii.guide/wiimmfi
    http://wiiki.wii-homebrew.com/Wiimmfi_(en)/Patcher

    Check those out. And if after that you still need help, shoot me a private message and we can exchange discord names and I can try and help you there. Just please read the information from the links and try it out for yourself first before relying on me to personally help you. Good luck.
     
    alexander1970 and Mikke18 like this.
  11. Mikke18

    Mikke18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    thank you so much for the help.
    if anyone wants to be a friend on mario kart just drop your code
     
    alexander1970 and Clutz450 like this.
  12. Mikke18

    Mikke18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    Since im not the best at this, can you use the bootmii with anything else then a gamecube controller?
    Edit: i found out that you can use the power button to move to the right and the reset button to choose
     
    Last edited by Mikke18, Oct 7, 2020
    Clutz450 likes this.
  13. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    The only other thing you would need a GameCube controller for is if you don't have BootMii installed in Boot2 and you try to restore your NAND. It will make sure your really want to retire by putting in the Konami code using the GameCube controller.
     
  14. Mikke18

    Mikke18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    can you make the wii start up without the bootmii showing up first?
     
  15. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10,611
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, just rename sd:/bootmii to sd:/bootmiioff or whatever as long as it's different.

    Or u can edit the Config file in the bootmii folder to autoboot the system menu immediately or with a timed delay
     
  16. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    You can do that @XFlak said and that will work. But what I do is remove the entire BootMii folder and copy it to my computer. Then the next time I need to launch into BootMii I copy those files back. Either way works fine. Just make sure you back up that BootMii folder whatever method you choose.
     
  17. Mikke18

    Mikke18 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Norway
    thank you guys for your help
     
    Clutz450 likes this.
  18. HomebrewMusicAddict

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    You can also use the Wiimmfi Auto Patcher. This is for users without HBC. It involves str2hax though.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - channel, str2hax, entry