1. oldmumak

    OP oldmumak Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Canada
    Just a heads up for people updating to 6.0.0, use a 6.5k - 10k ohm resistor on your modded joycon. Everytime you reset the switch on 6.0.0 it gives a controller update nag. My right joycon that didn't have the resistor isn't connecting properly, I will have to unplug its battery. The right joycon with the resistor installed updated fine.
     
    OkazakiTheOtaku likes this.
  2. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,292
    Country:
    United States
    i doubt this will be an issue for regular users
    You're using pre released software thats bound to have bugs
     
    Last edited by jakkal, Sep 6, 2018
    Erol likes this.
  3. Rudy69

    Rudy69 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Canada
    The version released to the public is unlikely to change at this point
     
    lordelan and Ericthegreat like this.
  4. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,292
    Country:
    United States
    its beta software that got leaked
     
  5. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,425
    Country:
    Japan
    It's not a bug. People on twitter were saying that they can detect and soft-brick tampered Joycons with 6.0.
    Also, this is more likely than not the full release of 6.0. It hasn't changed once on the CDN.


    EDIT:
     
    Last edited by Quantumcat, Sep 9, 2018
  6. iriez

    iriez GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    United States
    Can we get some info as to why we would do this, as in the technical reason?

    I noticed that my switch joycons get lag and I occasionally need to reboot my switch to fix it. It's super annoying and I've always wondered if there will be a fix for it.
     
  7. T-Error

    T-Error GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Germany
    It is in no way beta software and it also wasn't leaked. It is available on Nintys servers and is just not being pushed to users now since this update is intended for the paid online which will launch at a later date.
     
    OkazakiTheOtaku likes this.
  8. bundat

    bundat ¿
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    455
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm interested in this statement:
    Is this similar in any way to the Switch fw or GC fw update (i.e. renders joycons unusable in lower fw?)

    And also, how would one make a backup of their joycon FW?
    Is using "SPI flash backup" functionality in @CTCaer's Joy-Con Toolkit enough, or is it something else entirely?

    Asking as someone who is interested in having backups, just like I preserved my fuses (and also interested in preventing things like GC fw update as well)
     
    Last edited by bundat, Sep 6, 2018
  9. CTCaer

    CTCaer Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Country:
    Greece
    You can't easily restore the Joy-con's ota fw.

    Also it does not brick the controller.
    ^ This is illegal if it happened.
     
    Ericthegreat and OkazakiTheOtaku like this.
  10. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,425
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, I was more or less referring to balika001's terminology when I said it was a "soft-brick."
     
  11. CTCaer

    CTCaer Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Country:
    Greece
    Well a non-working modded joy-con is not the problem here.
    The problem is that they extended it more, since 5.0.
     
    OkazakiTheOtaku likes this.
  12. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,425
    Country:
    Japan
    Would this be a check that could be patched out using a CFW?
     
  13. CTCaer

    CTCaer Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Country:
    Greece
    Everything can be patched out.
     
    porto, Canna and OkazakiTheOtaku like this.
  14. KHEOPS

    KHEOPS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    France
    Not the tower of pisa in Italy, it tilts, it has been straightened up, it tilts again ! again and again
    Something that is well done at the base doesn't need a patch

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by KHEOPS, Sep 6, 2018
  15. oldmumak

    OP oldmumak Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Canada
    Pins are soldered inside the joycon so you don't have to use a jig. Instead of just soldering them together you should use a resistor to bridge the pins.
     
  16. D-Jay

    D-Jay High rulez
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    Germany
    Dude... the more I read from you the more I'm confused and scared.
     
  17. oldmumak

    OP oldmumak Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Canada
    This isn't 6.0.0 specific. Any time you update the joycon firmware and have the pins soldered without a resistor, the right joycon wont connect properly after the update. It happend to me the last time I updated the joycon firmware(before 6.0.0) All I had to do was take apart the joycon, unplug the battery and plug it back in.
     
  18. Rasa39

    Rasa39 Pervert Deluxe
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not that I'm updating anytime soon, or getting rid of autorcm, but I imagine this wouldn't happen to joycons modded with a reed switch right?
    Since the short is not made until after a magnet is used to bring the circuit together. That's all this check is doing, looking for bridged pins yeah?

    Oh guess that answers my question then. I didn't realise the joycons didn't automatically update with the firmware, so while I was testing a pro controller I got, I accidentally clicked the option to update my joycons (on 5.1). It updated and everything was fine. So if what you say is true, then this only affects permanent bridge modded joycons.

    Thanks for the pre-emptive answer haha
     
    Last edited by Rasa39, Sep 6, 2018
  19. KHEOPS

    KHEOPS GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    France
    D-jay
    Dude... the more I read from you the more I'm confused and scared.

    Don't worry, it's cool.
    Don't you understand my answer? My metaphor? It doesn't matter
    If you're one of those people who think everything is patchable? I answer again without metaphor ( image), if a program is well done at the base, why patched?
    Different from dlc ,which brings new content, a patch is to fill a gap, or problem, it's simple though.
    .
    Go another metaphor for d-jay
    A program ( house metaphor)
    How many floors (floor = patch) can you add before everything falls apart?
     
    Last edited by KHEOPS, Sep 6, 2018
    DarkDengar likes this.
  20. D-Jay

    D-Jay High rulez
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't understand most of your posts ;-)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - controller, update,