4GB with R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Tylon, Aug 25, 2007.

Aug 25, 2007

4GB with R4? by Tylon at 1:47 PM (2,550 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Tylon
    OP

    Member Tylon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Is Sandisk 4GB Micro-SDHC Card compatible with R4DS?

    Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. I heard through the chatter that it needs a hardware tweak... not a software one. Read das stickies, yes?
     
  3. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I really wish people would use the f*cking search
     
  4. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It needs a firmware upgrade. But it is impossible to change the R4 firmware... So the next option would indeed be a hardware tweak.
     
  5. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Yes, we know.


    No, ATM it is impossible to use a SDDHC one. You can use a normal one, but i hear they areabit sluggish...
     
  6. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes its possible to use a high speed one. In fact, its better [​IMG] . I think you mean SDHC which only the DSLink and CycloEvo support.
     
  7. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    There is 4GB MicroSD cards which is not SDHC but only SD [​IMG]
     
  8. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Those 4GB SDHC Micro SDHC are very slow from what I have heard and rare.
     
  9. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    The non-SDHC 4GB cards will be non-SD standard, which means they may not work with SD devices without some tampering
     
  10. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    tru dat [​IMG]
     
  11. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Jup but anyway what you gonna need a 4GB for?
    Its even more expensive than 2x 2 GB Kingston Japan [​IMG]

    And 1GB is even about 14 games.....
     
  12. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Videos and music. I personally love to use Moonshell to pass time on long bus rides. And I hate having to switch out my 2GB cards all the time...
     
  13. betawind

    Member betawind GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Oh come on retman, there were only 105 returned results just now... [​IMG]
     
  14. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    dangit.. you beat me.. [​IMG]
     
  15. fyww611

    Banned fyww611 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think 4GB card can work with R4, but only 2GB or 1GB can do. I ordered my R4 and a 2GB card at digimartz.com for testing, good choice. [​IMG]
     
  16. shinji257

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    The website does advertise up to 4GB support and it has been said that 4GB SDTF exist. I havn't seen them as microSD but I know that newegg.com carries regular SD cards that are 4GB (they were not SDHC) so they could be out there.
     
  17. flai

    Member flai Androgynous Apparently :)

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    R4 Team will probably release support for it in a firmware update. It shouldn't be too hard.
     
  18. shinji257

    Member shinji257 61396C68206D61737465722072616365 :3

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    Actually the hardware has to support it so it may not be possible. SD and SDHC are two different standards however SDHC is backwards compatible with SD. SD slots are not forwards compatible with SDHC. Those of us with an R4 may be SOL.
     

Share This Page