4.3E loading backups from USB

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by atomikramp, Feb 26, 2012.

Feb 26, 2012
  1. atomikramp
    OP

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello everyone,
    sorry if i post about this but it's ages i don't turn on my wii, and accidentally upgraded it to 4.3E

    with my big surprise i noticed that after the reboot the homebrew channel was still in place and that i could load USB Loader GX.
    it sees the hard disk (wbfs) and the games appear in the menu but when i try to launch them i'm brought back to the homebrew channel main menu.

    ok, for sure the update screwed up a bunch of things, but since it's ages i'm away i feel a bit outdated about my knowledge and many things might have changed during this year, so i wonder if someone can kindly point me in the right direction to get everything back in place in the way it's meant to be done :)

    thanks in advice
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Remod with ModMii. Link in my signature.
     
  3. atomikramp
    OP

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    No offense, but i prefer to know what i'm exactly doing, i've never trusted wizards too much without knowing what they are going to install on my console.

    i know that it's meant to have something working out of the box, but for instance, maybe there are features in which i'm not interested in and that i would prefer not to install. (like cIOSCorp for instance)

    as of now i have the homebrew channel installed, that means i can run unsigned code on my wii, and that's fine...
    from there, what has probably screwed up? or well, what did the update remove from my wii that prevents backups from loading but not unsigned code to run?

    thanks :)
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    ModMii is as safe as it's going to get. It asks you several questions and creates a custom guide for you. It won't install cIOSCorp. If you want a good softmod, that's the easiest and safest way.
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    assuming you were
     
  6. atomikramp
    OP

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
    i had bootmii installed on boot2, i think it got wiped, still i wonder why they left me my funny homebrew channel.

    i'm gonna copy to sd all the files generated with bootmii

    i don't need an exploit as i can run unsigned code from hbc, so i'll reinstall bootmii as boot2.

    question is:

    what are all these wads?

    it installs alot of IOSes and cIOSes

    back in the days i had like... 1 or 2...


    EDIT:
    remodding right now

    anyway
    boot2 was fine and bootmii was still installed after upgrade to 4.3E
    homebrew channel also was still in place
    homebrew channel was already at latest version

    now i'm batch-installing all the cIOS wads etc..

    hope it will go fine
     

Share This Page