4.2u Help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Choc0lat, Oct 27, 2009.

Oct 27, 2009

4.2u Help by Choc0lat at 11:50 PM (1,933 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I have modded my wii (4.2U) using amarokz and xxzero guide. I am able to load game using USB Loader GX. I believed I had screwed up my Wii after wad installation of a boy and his blod. Now, after Pressing a when on the health warning pages, i cant load the system menu and it seems like a screen freeze. Anyone can help?
     


  2. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi Choc0lat!

    If you have preloader install go to homebrew channel and reinstall system menu 4.2u wad, you can get this wad with NUSD and check pack to wad.
     
  3. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    did you make a nand backup with bootmii beforehand??? if so did you install bootmii as boot2 or IOS? if it is installed as boot2, just install your nand backup...if you installed it as IOS and have preloader...hold reset immediately after powering on the wii...this will load preloader...from there load bootmii, and install your nand backup......A boy and his blob has been bricking people
     
  4. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    if he followed my guide then he should have at least a NAND backup
     
  5. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Assuming he didn't follow the guide correctly, then the brick should serve as a lesson to ALWAYS FOLLOW DIRECTIONS
     
  6. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    there is already a big thread regarding making a wad for a boy and his blob. gives you a banner brick.

    there are a few options. if you have bootmii as boot2, restore your most recent backup. if you have preloader, load it up and go to the homebrew channel, load up wad manager and remove the boy and his blob wad.

    if you have neither of those two, then you're a fool for a start. do you have a modchip?
     
  7. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I wasnt really sure. i start off using amarokz guide which i cant get the usb loader works. After reading the thread by xxzero, i followed the step for the truncha as i already have hbc running. I dun have any midchip installed. does it mean the end of my Wii.
     
  8. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    do you have bootmii installed to boot2 (and a nand backup)?
    do you have preloader installed?
     
  9. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I did installed bootmi. with amarokz guide. But I dun think it was being install to boot2. I might get the steps wrong as i nvr see any boot2
     
  10. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    so you dont even know if you have bootmii installed to boot2 or ios?

    im going to assume ios, in which case you should have installed preloader, which i assume you didnt, correct?
     
  11. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I dun think i have preloader. if that is the case means my wii is gone?
     
  12. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    if you dont even know what you have installed on your wii, then you probably shouldnt have even been trying to mod it in the first place.
     
  13. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    hold reset immediately after powering on the wii...this will load preloader if you have it installed....if not, it sounds like your Wii is Nintendo bound
     
  14. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I managed to run game using usbloader. Therefore thought I should have done it correctly. anyway to boot up directly to wad manager?
     
  15. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    only if you have a modchip or preloader.
     
  16. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I backtracked the installation I had done previously. I suppose to have the Bootmii backup.
    Is this back up meant for recovery?
     
  17. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yes it is
    if you followed my guide then you would have a NAND backup and preloader installed if you were smart.

    you have a banner brick.

    only preloader, bootmii as boot2, or a modchip can save you.
     
  18. Choc0lat
    OP

    Newcomer Choc0lat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I had followed your steps until Step 6 and 7 which are optional.
    I started off Amarokz guide using Bannerbomb to start Hackmii Installer.
    Installed HomeBrew Channel, Bootmii, Bootmii IOS, DVDX.
    Moved the bootmii folder hackmii created as bootmii backup.
    Does this actually consider NAND backup?
     
  19. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    no, thats just installing bootmii
    you didnt even make a NAND backup

    or install preloader

    did you install the patched IOS70 at least?
     
  20. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    the folder you moved wasnt a nand backup, it was the folder that the installer created.You would've physically created a backup using the on screen Bootmii menu..bootmii doesnt create a back-up upon installation..,(although that would be a interesting feature for people who can install as boot 2...install bootmii, wii reboots into bootmii, automatically creates nand backup!)
     

Share This Page