Hardware 3DS XL Help!

Diox

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi guys, I'm new to the 3DS XL franchise and I'm not sure whether this error that I'm experiencing is either a software defect or a hardware one. So here it goes, I bought a 3DS XL 3 months ago which was pre-installed with Mario Kart 7. It was fine at first, no errors or any sort except for some rare occassions where an error pops up when playing Mario Kart which says:

" An error has occurred, forcing the software to restart.
Unsaved data may be lost "

At first I ignored it because it occurred very rarely, sometimes once a week or none at all. But during the release of the bravely default demo, the error started to get worse. It became worse when playing the demo itself. It occurs between 5-30 minutes when playing the demo and at that time I was really curious to whats causing the error. I thought that it was just the demo that was causing the error itself and didn't bother doing anything at that point. Just last month I bought a retail copy of the game Bravely Default from the same store that I bought the unit from. It was fine during the first hour into the game and everything was going well until I was surprised by the same error that haunted me during my play of the demo. After experiencing it, I was so frustrated to what is causing this error to my unit. I thought it was due to the game cart being defective so I sent the game cart back to the store for testing and moved on.