1. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hello, i recently bought a Old3DS XL that boots to a black screen. I've opened it up tried to replace the wifi card to no success, removed the motherboard and reínstalled all the ribbon cables, no signs of water damage or short-circuits, but i did notice a screw was missing and some of them were stripped. The only sign of life is the blue light when i turn it on and the fact that if you try to flash ntrboot it loads the Safeb9sinstaller does half the checks and then shuts down. This also happens if you replace the boot.firm with godmode9 or luma. I believe this could be a problem with the software or NAND but have no way to confirm this. Anyone that could figure this out?
     
  2. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    Does it fail or just turn off.
     
  3. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    I see the ''checks completed'' for a brief second and then it instantly turns off.
     
  4. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.... Have you tried to look at/around the NAND? Maybe something is broken. Look for any signs of broken fuses and things like that.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also, here is a guide to replacing the motherboard. Use it to take it apart and put it back together. I know you said you already did it, but sometimes you have to do things a couple of time. https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Nintendo+3DS+Motherboard+Replacement/6017
     
  5. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    I don't see signs of blown fuses, but there is a small see through white ribbon cable right next to the catridge slot that seems to have been bend or snapped, but it is still attached.
     
  6. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    Can you upload a picture?
     
  7. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    It doesn't let me upload a image but it's just a straight line through the ribbon cable looks like it's bend
     
  8. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    YOu don't have an option on the bottom right that says "Upload a File"? That lets you upload an image.
     
  9. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    IMG_0030[1].JPG IMG_0029[1].JPG


    It's pretty hard to see, it's the line that cuts through the black lines.
     
  10. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    The wire next to the text RA7 on the motherboard
     
  11. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes that one, its a little easier to see on the first pic.
     
  12. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    I think that that is the touchscreen input
     
  13. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    Could this be the problem?
     
  14. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so, but maybe.
     
  15. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    I can't really test it since i don't have another 3DS.
     
  16. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    I have one, I will test it and tell you tomorrow. I have to go home... I use the school internet.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Keep looking for anything that is wrong.
     
  17. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    Okay, thank you!
     
  18. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    OK, so I unplugged the wire on my 3ds, and it still booted, but the touch screen didn't work, so I don't think that that is the problem.
     
  19. Zeffog

    OP Zeffog Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Belgium
    Okay thank you for trying, could it just be a bad motherboard?
     
  20. MrMcTiller

    MrMcTiller GBATemp's Tiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    United States
    It might be. I honestly don't know. You didn't find any other broken things did you? Also, does the power turn off when you turn it on?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - screen, Black,