3DS System Version 2.1.0-3E Released!

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Nollog, Jun 16, 2011.

Jun 16, 2011
  1. Nollog
    OP

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    No idea what's new, but my 3DS asked me to update when I tried going to the eShop.
    Probably to do with either ridge racer's bug, or Club Nintendo phishing.

    --Acekard 2i still loading.

    Update:
     


  2. Moose13

    Member Moose13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I just updated here too. 2.1.0-3U here in the states. No noticable differences to me yet.

    Edit: For everyone's info, it was not an automatic update, it prompted first.
     
  3. Nollog
    OP

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    Then it's probably not the phishing thing as that was a European problem only.
     
  4. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Did it block any flashcarts?
     
  5. Nollog
    OP

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    my acekard 2i's still working.
     
  6. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Possibly just a fix for the Ridge Racer bug. Didn't they say it would be available 'later' this month?

    edit -- Changelog:
    source: http://gbatemp.net/t297234-2-0-0-2-update-...t&p=3717961
     
  7. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just an interesting side-note, if you parental controls enabled (even with no restrictions set), the system will ask for a pin before the update starts.

    That could be a nice feature to keep people from accidentally updating your system.

    BTW-that was a fast update!
     
  8. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    They said mid-June and it's exactly mid June.
     
  9. Takeshi

    Member Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks for clearing that up, I didn't remember what they said exactly.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The fact that a firmware update fixed a game bug shows that Nintendo's not doing the whole EVERYTHING MUST BE SEPARATE they did on the Wii. This is good news in that if the 3DS is hacked people will be able to code lots of interesting things and this might allow easier exploits... but is bad in that it'd likely mean more security attempts (though how well they'll work I won't guess).
     
  11. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone yet been able to confirm if the Supercard DStwo still works?
     
  12. xxteargodxx

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Confirmed, Acekard 2i is still working here after system update.
     
  13. psanps88

    Newcomer psanps88 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Supercard ds2 still works. It's not surprising since acekard 2i does.
     
  14. Aran_Belmont

    Newcomer Aran_Belmont Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yeah, it works fine.
    Feel free to update
     
  15. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    My HW44 Ak2i does not, however. For some reason it still insists on showing up as an AK2i... like if it was still in my previous DS lite.
     
  16. ilman

    Member ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    Shibuya
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    does cyclo dsi evo work?
     
  17. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    My DStwo works.

    And that update was really fast.
     
  18. DSi-temp

    Newcomer DSi-temp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, cyclo dont works on 2.0.0 and even NOT on 2.1.0
     
  19. TCJJ

    Member TCJJ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I loved how I got the notification via SpotPass about this update, because it said a new, recommended update had been release on June 16 (today), and was version number 2.0.0-2E. Oh man, I was confused for ages, until I looked at 3Dbrew and saw that there was indeed a new update - Nintendo just failed at getting the details of their own software correct.
     
  20. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Am I imaging things or is the eShop suddenly a lot faster?
     

Share This Page