3ds Software Freezes

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by midnight1001, Sep 21, 2011.

Sep 21, 2011

3ds Software Freezes by midnight1001 at 7:18 AM (1,083 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi everyone:
    Ok... I have downloaded all the free software avaliable in thr 3ds e-shop since its release like the e3 videos and exitebike etc...
    However after awhile when i tried to open them (this was around 3 months after downloaded) they wouldnt load it got stuck on that 3ds screen that comes up when opening them.
    My question is this- the exitebike software is no longer free and videos arnt on the shop anymore so am i safe to delete and redownload using the already downloaded option in the settings or will i lose the software on my 3ds. And my 2nd problem is that when i open pokedex it loads and says that i have new data but when i click yes to download it, it just stays on the recieving data screen. I really dont want to redownload pokedex as i dont want to lose all the data ive collected.
    Does anyone know why this is happenin it is a real big problem for me. I have a strange susspicion that it is a problem with the SD card.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advanced.

    Edit- Also i had to download some of the ambassador games twice because they gave me the same problem.
     
  2. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    Turn off your 3DS and reinsert your SD card.
     
  3. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    I did that but it still gives me the never ending 3ds loading screen. I guess maybe it didnt install correctly?
     
  4. dicamarques

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    there's no problem in deleting and re downloading! [​IMG]

    You can re download them the same way u downloaded the ambassador stuff.
     
  5. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    How is your internet connection?
     
  6. dicamarques

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    It's not the internet i have one of the slowest and i've downloaded all of the ambassador games, and they work without any problem.
     
  7. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes i know that i can redownload them but it is time consuming and annoing so i was just wondering if anyone had experienced this problem and how to fix it. My internet connection is fine and was fine when i downloaded the titles. With exitebike its almost like its 'getting old' and refusing to load. The weird thing is that with the case of exitebike i had it on my 3ds for months and all of a sudden it stopped working(same with e3 trailers). Now that i think about it i did backup some photos on the sd card to my computer could that have stuffed up the software loading? Also is there away to backup my savefile for pokedex and if i delete pokedex and redownload it wii my data still be there?
     
  8. dicamarques

    Member dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,012
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    About the 1st question, if you didnt touch anyother folder theres no problem (i do that myself sometimes)
    2nd question, Dont know :S
     
  9. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    After reading this, I think you have a problem with the SD card.

    My SD once popped out and the game lags like hell. I reinserted and it worked fine.
     
  10. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    One more question- If i coiped my entire sd card just for a backup purpose would it effect the contents and give me a result like the problem i have now?

    Also should i try a different sd card- the way i mentioned above?
     
  11. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    If you copy the whole thing (to your computer?) it should be fine.

    Try a different SD card and see if it works.
     
  12. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    OK i did what you suggested and it still wouldnt load so does that mean that i should conclude that it didnt install correctly? and what was to blame the internet or the sd card for the bad instillation.
    Note- My brother has a 3ds and his downloaded and ran without a problem... Also the sd card im using wasnt the one it came with so does that icrease the chances that it is the sd c ard?
     
  13. chris888222

    Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,532
    Country:
    Singapore
    I still believe it's the SD card...

    Unless it's the system... When you first bought it was it okay?
     
  14. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Try your card in his 3DS?
     
  15. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    Sure thing i will when my brother gets home from school. But i thought that every sd cards contents was unique to every individual 3ds.
     
  16. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    The contents of the SD card are individual to the SD card.
    This is just to check whether or not your SD slot is broken (somehow).
     
  17. morphius

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    I would copy all the files to my pc to back them up. Then I would format the sd card with the panasonic sd formatter (http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html). I use 2.0 but I suppose 3.0 would work as well. Then copy the files back to the sd card. It might help....couldn't hurt.
     
  18. midnight1001
    OP

    Newcomer midnight1001 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks- I bought a new sd card problem so hopefully that will work better and if not then it must be something wrong with the actual 3ds or if it downloaded wrong.
     

Share This Page