Hacking 3DS Rips

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
I'm amazed, really- people have already ripped music from the 3DS! Check out the latest videos of GilvaSunner, formerly known as TimmyTurnersDad on YouTube.

How did he rip that? We can only get the videos from online and it seems like he has already ripped 3DS games and their music. Asking now.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,898
Country
United States
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
If you're using onboard sound, they tend to have crappy recording quality.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
Rydian said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
If you're using onboard sound, they tend to have crappy recording quality.
Exactly. The only idea that can be achieved in HD is using an external device to render the music. Because the speakers always suck and so does the headphone jack.
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
219
Country
United States
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
Given that he has music from the 3DS Firmware itself, it's almost assuredly 3DS headphone -> PC mic/line in.

Unless he destroyed his 3DS...
I suppose it would be possible he took off the case and has a wired connection to the speaker ports to something that can keep it a digital signal and "records" from that.
 

Mantis41

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
1,853
Trophies
0
Location
earth
XP
434
Country
United States
Meh! Sounds like it couldn't be recorded from the headphone slot to me. Try it with your DS, you can get pretty decent quality from digital to analog to digital recordings.
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
BortzANATOR said:
So how long till we start seeing .3DS roms?
Around the time when the guy behind Lamefuck dies.

Not sure, if we had a 3DS cart, we could wire the ROM storage to a USB port. But that's a one-time use, but we could get a ROM.

Won't do us any good without the decryption key. It's not a rar archive.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,898
Country
United States
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Rydian said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
If you're using onboard sound, they tend to have crappy recording quality.
Exactly. The only idea that can be achieved in HD is using an external device to render the music. Because the speakers always suck and so does the headphone jack.
No, I'm talking about your computer's recording quality...
 

Knyaz Vladimir

3DS Hacker
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
556
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Unconfirmed
Website
Visit site
XP
58
Country
Canada
Rydian said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Rydian said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
If you're using onboard sound, they tend to have crappy recording quality.
Exactly. The only idea that can be achieved in HD is using an external device to render the music. Because the speakers always suck and so does the headphone jack.
No, I'm talking about your computer's recording quality...
Oh. Well, I'm not so sure about the soundcard that I have, but I paid about $60 for it. I just need one that was decent, and it runs ASIO4ALL quite nicely at 2048kbps. It's a good HD card. I think Mr. Sausage has a better one, imo.
 

doyama

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,288
Trophies
0
XP
171
Country
United States
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Rydian said:
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Sausage Head said:
I have a cable that can connect the DS output (microphone slot) to a computers Audio in- and output.
That's how I rip music most of the times.
And here I thought it was something that could work. But that can't explain the HD quality, as quality is somewhat lowered when using the headphone jack (and to some extent, it's better).
If you're using onboard sound, they tend to have crappy recording quality.
Exactly. The only idea that can be achieved in HD is using an external device to render the music. Because the speakers always suck and so does the headphone jack.

Not sure what you mean by HD.... Basically as long as you have some kind of external sound card you can easily get this quality of music out of a DS just through the headphone jack.
 

M[u]ddy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
511
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
NRW
XP
386
Country
Germany
Not everybody is limited to an onboard codec.

I myself have an 150€ soundcard and the recording quality is very good.
 

RupeeClock

Colors 3D Snivy!
Member
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
6,453
Trophies
1
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
2,181
Country
It wouldn't surprise me if the 3DS uses the same file structure as the DS or Wii, so if someone were to rip a ROM, might not be difficult to get music playing.
 

ichichfly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2009
Messages
619
Trophies
0
XP
1,041
Country
Gambia, The
Knyaz Vladimir said:
Not sure, if we had a 3DS cart, we could wire the ROM storage to a USB port. But that's a one-time use, but we could get a ROM.

Won't do us any good without the decryption key. It's not a rar archive.

You can buy a ds-card slot for ~10€ and cut a little part away then you can use them often.

ADD: Well it is not that easy to read the rom you have to do more. If your to slow the card will forget the read command and so on. I think at the ds Cards the usb 1.1 speed was to slow.

ADD2: it is unknown if the roms are encrypted
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,898
Country
United States
Okay I just tried the mic method, and I swear this recording sounds a hell of a lot better than the actual game does on my DSi.
tongue.gif


http://www.mediafire.com/?6re8jv42v4h18tx

Trajectile is DSiware.
 

Antoids

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
51
Trophies
0
XP
56
Country
United States
SilvaGunner doesn't record their own music, anyway, does (s)he? I was under the impression (s)he collected music from the Internet and posted it.
 

RNorthex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
443
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United States
would love to have the 3d demo-video from update[the eur version if its different] that is a cool chill-type one
biggrin.gif

anw, ripping music is old, i mean if u've seen the japanese 3ds first-try on gamespot, the camera man himself kept switching between the 3ds' with the in-line audio
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    IMG-20210925-201416.jpg
    If these aren't good I'm giving up on the frozen section of gods
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    don't stick them in the microwave
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and they're probably fine
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    No shit
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    This is not the EOF
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    wait i didn't get the time to see what it said
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    damn it, linuxares
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the shitbox has been effectively eof for a long time and it was perfect that way
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    ehh post it in the eof chat instead? i still want to see it
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    exactly, that's a good place for it x3
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Well this is interesting
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    For what?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't like this new shitbox, it's too complicated
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    well this isn't a shoutbox but a chat
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's basically the same thing shoutbox has been around for years just upgraded
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh the floating chat thing is new.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    And you can do formatting.
  • Arecaidian Fox @ Arecaidian Fox:
    Oooooh, colors.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I think what you meant was "colors".
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    :^)
    +1
  • antiNT @ antiNT:
    nice
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    hi o w o
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    yo does anyone know how to fix the 'no main boot entries found, check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use more configs button for more boot entries' error on hekate??? i keep getting it when i try to click the launch option
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out
    HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie: nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out